Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Reference Works
Cambridge History of Christianity - Ref BR 141 .C36 2006
A detailed chronological overview of the history of Christianity, including social, political, and regional aspects as well as theological. The chapters are written by experts in each topic area covered.
Encyclopedia of Protestantism - Ref BX 4811.3 .E53 2004
Covers creeds, cultural and social issues, important people and institutions, theology, and the diverse traditions and faith groups that make up protestantism, both historically and in contemporary times.
Encyclopedia of Religion - Ref BL 31 .E46 2005
Covers religions from around the world and through history as well as people and ideas related to religion. The articles are written by experts in their fields and include excellent bibliographies. This new edition includes hundreds of new articles, thoroughly revised coverage of all topics in religion, and a handful of "visual essays" that illustrate visual culture as a significant aspect of religion.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America - Ref BL 2520 .E52 2010 (4 vols.)
Covers a broad range of historical and contemporary topics related to religion in America and includes extensive bibliographies
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience - Ref BL 2525 .E53 1988
Contains substantial articles surveying religions, cultural context, issues, and other broad topics, each with a helpful bibliography for further research.
Historical Atlas of the Religions of the World - Ref BL 80.2 .F28
Provides a geographical framework for the understanding of world religions, past and present. It features significant descriptive text along with maps.
New Catholic Encyclopedia - Ref BX 841 .N44 2002
This recently-revised encyclopedia covers many general topics, but is particularly thorough in its coverage of Catholic doctrine, history, and traditional practice. Includes many illustrations.
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopedia of Beliefs and Practices - Ref BL 80.3 .R45 2002
Offers short articles on countries and on religious denominations. 4 vols.
Reference books are helpful in providing background information, outlining a topic and (possibly) providing recommended sources for further exploring a topic. Explore the volumes below - many have information about missions and missionaries (look in the index). This list is not comprehensive so be sure to browse nearby books to find additional useful reference books.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License