REL 252: Interfaith Understanding and Global Christianities: Reference Works

Contains over 500 short articles on facets of American religious life, including organizations, movements, practices, trends, and beliefs.

Offers substantial articles on people, organizations, churches, and topics such as "preaching and the preacher in African American Religion" and "theology, black." Includes chronology and introductory essays as well as a thorough bibliography.

Volume one contains entries about Islam in the United States; volume two contains primary documents and further investigations into topics such as citizenship, gender, and September 11.

Offers overview articles on a wide variety of topics including places, people, faith traditions, and controversial issues such as creationism.

Covers a broad range of historical and contemporary topics related to religion in America and includes extensive bibliographies

Contains substantial articles surveying religions, cultural context, issues, and other broad topics, each with a helpful bibliography for further research.

An excellent one-stop reference for overviews of denominations.

Presents information on the diversity of Hispanic American religious expression, including historical development and current trends.

A five-volume set that contains in-depth articles covering various aspects of American religions movements, ranging from alternative forms of Asian, African, Christian, and Jewish religions to considerations of New Age, Neopagan, and social aspects of alternative religions, such as gender, violence, legal aspects, and Millenialism.

Essays provide overviews of major trends in religion in the United States and Canada, along with detailed descriptions of 24 major religious traditions

Newly revised, this multi-volume set covers the intersection of culture and various religions in American life, as well as various views individual traditions have toward topics such as the body, death, and sexuality. The set also includes a richness of primary source materials.

A detailed chronological overview of the history of Christianity, including social, political, and regional aspects as well as theological. The chapters are written by experts in each topic area covered.

A quick place to locate basic information about figures, events, and topics in Native North American mythology, from all tribes and periods. Includes a useful bibliography.

Covers religions from around the world and through history as well as people and ideas related to religion. The articles are written by experts in their fields and include excellent bibliographies. This new edition includes hundreds of new articles, thoroughly revised coverage of all topics in religion, and a handful of "visual essays" that illustrate visual culture as a significant aspect of religion.

An excellent source for information on the Jewish people and religion, offering scholarly and in-depth articles, recently updated to include current research on historical and contemporary topics.

Provides a geographical framework for the understanding of world religions, past and present. It features significant descriptive text along with maps.

Essays cover a variety of topics related to Buddhism.

Focusing on the early years of the Christian Church, this handbook is a good place to find short discussions of people, places, topics, and texts.

Provides detailed information about Hinduism; entries contain biblographies

Provides an overview of individuals, concepts, and topics related to Islam.

Covers creeds, cultural and social issues, important people and institutions, theology, and the diverse traditions and faith groups that make up protestantism, both historically and in contemporary times.

This two volume work provides an overview of Taoism; entries contain bibliographies, which can help in locating other sources

This recently-revised encyclopedia covers many general topics, but is particularly thorough in its coverage of Catholic doctrine, history, and traditional practice. Includes many illustrations.

Covers countries of the Islamic world and topics related to Islamic religion, history, and culture. Articles are lengthy and scholarly as well as up-to-date.

Offers short articles on countries and on religious denominations. 4 vols.