Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Call Number: Ref DS4 .L48 2002 (vols. 1-6)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Call Number: Ref GN333 .W67 2009 (vols. 1-5)
Why Use Reference Works?
Specialized reference works such as encyclopedias provide overviews and can give you a good sense of what's out there and what different approaches are being taken to a given topic. Most of our reference sources are located in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. Some are available online.
Selected Reference Works
Countries and Their Cultures - Ref GN 307 .C68 2001
This set covers both national cultures of 225 countries and the cultures of diverse groups within their borders. Covers history, ethnic relations, political life, and religion.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life - Ref GN 333 .W67 2009
Offers lengthy articles on over 500 culture groups worldwide. Each article surveys the location and homeland of the people and covers a wealth of information on such topics as their language, folklore, religion, rites of passage, interpersonal relations, living conditions, family life, cultural heritage, work, and social issues. Each entry includes a selective bibliography.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia - Ref DS 4 .L48 2002
Intended to be the most comprehensive standard reference work on the region, this set covers East, Southeast, South, Central, and West-Southwest Central Asia, from Japan to Turkey, Khazakstan to Indonesia. The focus in on the twentieth century, with articles covering places, peoples, geography, the arts, economics, religion, and more.
Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, its History and Culture - Ref DS 705 .P47 2000
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture - Ref DS 779.23 .E53 2005
Provides background on a wide variety of topics, from architecture and city planning to ethnicity and ethnic identity; from food to film, from political culture to religion.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture - Ref DS 822.5 .E516 2002
This resource includes topics related to architecture, education, family, film, music, media, politics, sports, technology, etc.
Japan Encyclopedia - Ref DS 821 .F73 2002
A one-volume encyclopedia covering the art, culture, history, literature and religion of Japan. Also contains many biographies. This resource is more like a dictionary and works well as a quick reference source.
Britannica Online Academic Edition
Search the content of encyclopedias, a dictionary and thesaurus, a multimedia database with images, videos, and sound files, the Web's Best Sites, selected magazines and journals, country statistics from World Data Analyst, notable quotations, and Gateway to the Classics (a collection of works of Western history, literature, philosophy, and science). Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License