Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Make You Searches Smart
There's a lot of published research. When you use a library database look for ways to make your life easier. Set up filters for
- date (you don't need interpretations of literature that are shaped by out-of-date ideas)
- subject (some databases cover everything - you may want to focus on literature)
- audience (in some databases a limit to scholarly or peer-reviewed screens out magazine and newspaper articles)
- format (in the catalog, try print book; in other databases try article to focus your search)
Where to Look
Some things to know about the catalog: you can limit by year of publication, to print books, and (if you're greedy) search libraries worldwide and request books from other libraries. It takes a few days, but it's free.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from scholarly sources. Be sure to limit by date (some of these articles are old, by format (article), and by subject area; scroll down to find ones such as language and literature, feminist and women's studies, and Latin American studies.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A grab-bag of articles from all disciplines. Limit by academic journals and play around with your search terms to find literary analysis rather than book or film reviews.
Project Muse Basic College Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes a number of literary and gender studies journals. Worth a try.
Sure, Wikipedia is amazing and it's easy - but some of the editors are jerks and women's experiences and contributions aren't always fully represented because they're edited out or their significance is challenged. It can also be pretty male/white/US-centric. Reference books might give you background information to understand context. Here are some examples, but librarians can always point you toward others that can address your questions..
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Call Number: Ref F1406 .E53 2008 v. 1-6
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies by
Call Number: Reference HQ1180 .W55 2016
Publication Date: 2016-05-09
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License