Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Works
The CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics, Third Edition - 3 Volume Set by
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society by
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Using Reference Works
Reference books are excellent tools, especially when you are beginning a research project. They give broad overviews, orienting you to the larger context in which your topic occurs. They can provide definitions and give you ideas for search words. They might also clue you in to the major thinkers in your area. Sometimes they provide resources for further reading, giving you an instant source list. Reference books are on the main floor of the library facing Beck Hall.
Recommended Reference Works
CRC Encyclopedia of Mathematics - Ref QA5 .W45 2009 [vol.]
This 3-volume set contains nearly 12,000 entries. Each article provides definitions, formulas, illustrations, websites, bibliographic information, and facts from mathematics, the sciences, and engineering.
Encyclopedia of Mathematics and Society - Ref QA 10.7 .E53 2012
This reference work serves as a general and non-technical resource for students and teachers to understand the importance of mathematics; to appreciate the influence of mathematics on societies around the world; to learn the history of applied mathematics; and to initiate educational discussion brought forth by the specific social and topical articles presented in the work.
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology - Ref Q 121 .M3 2012, 20 vols.
Covers topics in the sciences in detail, giving technical discussions fully illustrated with charts, diagrams, and photographs.
Reference Guide to Data Sources - Ref HA 33.5 .B38 2014
Much of the most frequently used data can be found free online, and this book shows readers how to look for it with the assistance of user-friendly tools. Includes concentrated coverage of data sources for frequently researched subjects such as agriculture, the earth sciences, economics, energy, political science, transportation, and many more.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License