Skip to main content

Careers in Librarianship: Sources for Exploration

Ask Us!

Any or all of the librarians would be happy to discuss a career in librarianship with you.

Even if we graduated many years ago, we can use our connections to help you learn about current programs at a variety of universities. Don't be shy! Ask us.

First Person

Stories about librarians and their careers:

Movers and Shakers 2016 - Library Journal chooses librarians annually who are doing interesting things. This article profiles 50 high achievers.

Letters to a Young Librarian - a blog for people new to the profession

"Should You Become a Librarian?" - a tongue-in-cheek flowchart that will test just how serious you are about this profession. 

Let the Wild Rumpus Start - a blog by a children's librarian.

Storytime Underground - a site for sharing ideas among children's librarians and promoting social justice.

Recommended Reading

Find this book in our library or online for free.

What's Up? LISNews

Loading

Career Advice

Library Career People - a Q&A advice blog

Open Cover Letters - an archive of successful cover letters for librarian positions

About the Profession

A Snapshot of a 21st Century LibrarianThe Atlantic 

Careers in Libraries - a bibliography of sources, online and in print, from the American Library Association (ALA).

Careers in Public Librarianship - from the Public Library Association.

Core Values Statement - a report on librarians' fundamental values with links to supporting documents (ALA).

How to Become a 21st Century Librarian by Meredith Schwartz, Library Journal - an article on what kinds of specializations are availble and how to approach choosing and getting the most out of a degree program.

"So You Think You Want to Be a Librarian?" article by Brian Kenney in Publishers  Weekly.

Librarian by Day's "So You Want to Be a Librarian?" - a great collection of links and blog posts, covering the degree, the job search, skills, and general professional advice.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Librarians - from the US Department of Labor.

About Graduate Education

Directory of Institutions Offering Accredited Master's Programs in Library and Information Science - from the ALA.

Guidelines for Choosing a Master's Program in Library and Information Studies - from the ALA.

Hack Library School (a blog for grad students - recommended reading!)

Library & Information Science Syllabi - sample some grad school course syllabi collected by librarian Amanda L. Goodman

Where are the programs?


View ALA-Accredited LIS Programs in a larger map

Related Professions

Archives

So You Want to Be an Archivist: An Overview of the Archival Profession - from the Society of American Archivists.

Directory of Archival Education - from the Society of American Archivists.

Occupational Outlook Handbook - Archivists, Curators, and Museum Technicians - from the US Department of Labor.

Book Publishing

Bookjobs.com - a site about career possibilities in publishing from the Association of American Publishers.

About Publishing: Major/Department Guide - outlines jobs in publishing and skills required; from the Association of American Publisher's Bookjobs site.

Publishing Programs/Education - from the Association of American Publisher's Bookjobs site.

Publishing Graduate Programs, 2015 - from Publishers Weekly; includes valuable gender and diversity information

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License