Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background Information Sources
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease by
Call Number: Reference QP141 .M64 2014
Publication Date: 2012
American Dietetic Association Complete Food and Nutrition Guide by
Call Number: Reference RA784 .D89 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition by
Call Number: Reference QP141 .E526 2013 (4 volumes)
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Obesity by
Call Number: Reference RC628 .E53 2008 (2 volumes)
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Lifestyle Medicine and Health by
Call Number: Reference RA427 .E53 2012 (2 volumes)
Publication Date: 2012
These books are in the Reference Section on the main floor, Beck side. They'll be useful for definitions, explanations, and overviews.
The latest blog posts by Marion Nestle, who spoke at the Nobel Conference some years ago.
Kinds of Sources
"Sources are people talking to people"
There are (at least) two ways to find information.
- The Google way - put key words into a search engine, catalog, or database and see what turns up. This seems quick and efficient, but can overwhelm you with choices.
- Following connections from one expert to another - when you find a good source, it may well point you to other sources. In a way, you're becoming part of a big conversation and your voice matters! The trick in following connections is getting your hands on the books and articles they wrote.
Libraries also use a third way - classification. Once you find a book in the catalog and note its call number, you'll find it is shelved with other books on the same subject. The shelving system is old and odd, but it still helps you browse by general category. College libraries don't use the Dewey Decimal system; they use the one the Library of Congress uses. But it's the same concept.
There may be books in the general collection of the library you can use to pursue your questions They tend to go into more depth and specificity than reference books and may be written for a specialist or a general audience.. Search our catalog on the library's main page to see what books we have or to borrow books from other libraries. There is a useful set of filters on the left-hand side after you do a search. You might want to limit a search to books published in the last 10 years, for example.
Some articles are included in the same database as our books, but there are additional databases that are more in-depth and sometimes focused on a particular discipline like nursing or medicine.
Academic Search Premier
This database covers lots of subjects and includes both peer-reviewed (primary science) articles and magazines among other sources. You can limit a search by type of publication as well as by time period. It's a good idea for science research to look for recently-published articles.
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
A version of Google that indexes scholarly publications in all disciplines and lets you see who has cited them.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing)
A database of nursing journals and evidence-based care information.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) (New PubMed)
This massive medical database is created by the National Library of Medicine and is available free - though many of the articles are only available through interlibrary loan.
We're From the Government ...
. . . and we really do want to help you. The federal government funds a great deal of medical research and provides non-specialized information for citizens - some of which Gary Taubes argues is simply wrong.
Some of these sites may be useful to you when researching health information or finding out how it is presented to the public by the Department of Agriculture and other agencies.
How Do I Get Stuff From Other Libraries?
If you're in the library catalog or one of our databases, it's usually pretty easy. In our catalog, choose to search libraries worldwide, click on the title of the book you want, and scroll down to find the "request it" button. In a database, if the full text isn't there, click on Find It and it should give you either the full text of the article through another database or an option to request it.
Sometimes, though, you looked for an article using the "do we have this journal?" link and - nope, we don't. You can put that citation into a blank form. Click on My Library Account on the library's main page and log in.
Then click on your name and choose My ILL Requests - and then click on Create Request. You'll get an email when it arrives.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License