Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this Page
This page includes sources and activities for your Migration Experience Project background research. The sources that will be most useful for students will vary depending on the background of the migrants they interview. This guide is a starting point for research--don't hesitate to ask a librarian for further assistance!
Fall 2020 reference (research) help:
Recommended Article Databases
Academic Search Premier, a good place to search for scholarly journal and current event magazine articles related to country of origin and migration experiences:
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
ProQuest US Newsstream, for current newspaper articles related to country of origin and migration experiences:
ProQuest US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
New York Times Historical, for older newspaper articles (1851 - 4 years ago) related to country of origin and migration experiences...
New York Times Historical
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License