Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Researching the V-12 Navy College Training Program
If you are interested in learning more about the V-12 Navy College Training Program, both at Gustavus and across the United States, here are a few helpful links to get you started. If you have any questions about where to start, please don't hesitate to contact the Archives for help!
Where Should I Search?
Gustavus Adolphus College Archives
Link to GACA Collection 259: Navy V-12 Program, Collection of the Navy V-12 Program at Gustavus Adolphus College, 1942-1948, 1987, and 1993. Also contains the collection finding aid.
Google is in the midst of an ambitious project to digitize books from publishers and in libraries. Those that were published before 1923 are in full text; those still potentially under copyright can be searched, but not viewed in full. It offers an interesting way to locate very specific words, phrases, and citations, particularly in older books. Using the advanced search you can limit a search to books that are full text or published within a range of years.
Archives Digital Collections
Contains digital materials related to the College Archives, including campus newspapers, photographs, audio recordings, and posters.
Digital History: Gustavus Adolphus College Navy V-12 Program
Website that provides a brief overview of the V-12 program at Gustavus and the effect it had on the college. Also provides links to other resources about the program.
, Environmental Studies
, Gustavus History
, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies
, Special Collections and Rare Books
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License