Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Physical & Mental Health Topics
If you're interested in how physical and/or mental health is impacted by COVID-19, you might consider exploring the connections between the pandemic and:
- Access to medical services
- Living conditions
- Risk behaviors
- Sleep quality
These are just a few examples - consider what you have discussed in class and what issues you are most interested in.
Recommended Article Databases
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and chapters.
PubMed Central (digital archive of journal literature)
Free full text scholarly journal archive of literature in the life and health sciences, managed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.
American Psychological Association
"The American Psychological Association is the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States. APA is the world's largest association of psychologists, with nearly 130,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members."
CDC Health Topics A-Z
Links to information about public health and disease from the Centers for Disease Control.
A central repository for news and information about the health care reform law.
Healthy People 2020
A statement of national health objectives designed to identify the most significant preventable threats to health and to establish national goals to reduce these threats.
Minority Health (CDC)
A page of resources from the CDC, providing information on diseases, deaths, and disabilities among minority populations.
National Center for Health Statistics
A wealth of data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control.
National Institutes of Health (NIH)
Part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the NIH is the primary Federal agency for conducting and supporting medical research.
National Institutes of Mental Health
Part of the National Institutes of Health; an excellent site for current research.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License