LibGuides: IDS 144: Socioeconomic Impact of COVID-19 (Loefgren): Geography

Geography Topics

If you're interested in how one's geographic location is impacted by COVID-19, you might consider exploring the connections between the pandemic and:

Cultural differences
Distance to primary care and/or hospitals
Demographic factors (e.g. age, gender, race/ethnicity, etc.)
Health insurance
Regional attitudes or characteristics (the South vs the Midwest)
Rural vs Urban areas
Transportation

These are just a few examples - consider what you have discussed in class and what issues you are most interested in.

Recommended Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
Ethnic Diversity Source (New!) This link opens in a new window
New for Fall 2023! Ethnic Diversity Source covers the culture, traditions, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides the full text of nearly 500 journals, including almost 400 peer reviewed journals. It also provides access to the Diversity and Ethnic Studies collection of more than 5,000 ebooks.
GeoRefS This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. It is international in scope, and citations date from 1785 to the present.
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
GSW provides access to the full text of more than 50 journals and over 2,000 ebooks in the earth sciences. The default search includes both GSW journals and the GeoRef index. To limit your search to GSW full text journals only, select "All GSW journals" on the Quick Search or Advanced Search menu.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.

IDS 144: Socioeconomic Impact of COVID-19 (Loefgren): Geography

Geography Topics

Recommended Article Databases

Links