Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need More Data?
This page focuses on the data related to economics, business, and finance. We have a separate guide with suggested sources for finding statistics on all kinds of topics..
Finding statistical data can be complex, so don't hesitate to ask a librarian for help.
The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 183 economies and selected cities at the subnational level. A joint effort from the International Finance Corporation and the World Bank.
Foreign Trade Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau trade statistics.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
Sponsored by the International Monetary Fund, IFS is a standard source of economic and financial data for most countries of the world. Includes many macroeconomic indicators including measures of money supply, exchange rates, trade/balance of payments, prices/inflation, interest rates, employment, and national income & product accounts. Useful for international economics and business statistical data needs. Can search for indicators & countries and download to Excel.
International Trade and Tariff Data
From the World Trade Organization.
OECD Stat Extracts
OECD.stat includes data and metadata for 34 member countries and selected non-member economies. This data covers a wide range of topics, including the economy, health, the environment, and information technology.
World Bank: Global Economic Prospects
These reports, produced by the World Bank, examine global economic developments and prospects, with a special focus on emerging market and developing economies.
Key Economic Data Sources
Congressional Budget Office
Though it sounds incredibly boring, the CBO provides non-partisan research to Congress and makes that research public. You can often find good information on hot topics here.
A portal for all sorts of statistical data from federal Web sites.
Provides quick access to economic data on employment, prices, international trade, production, and more compiled by U.S. federal agencies.
National Bureau of Economic Statistics (NBER)
The National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) is a private, nonpartisan organization that facilitates cutting-edge investigation and analysis of major economic issues. It disseminates research findings to academics, public and private-sector decision-makers, and the public by posting more than 1,200 working papers and convening more than 120 scholarly conferences, each year.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - Ready Reference HA 202 .A2
This is perhaps the single most useful small package of statistical information available. It includes hundreds of tables of figures on population, economics, social factors, etc., with references to the original sources. An index to the tables provide essay access. A web version can be found at Census.gov
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
From the Department of Commerce. Offers regional, national, and international economic data. Includes working papers, surveys of current business, and interactive data tables.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
Offers statistics on consumer price, employment, wages, inflation, productivity, the U.S. economy, etc. This is a gold mine of current statistical data and reports covering consumer spending, employment, wages, productivity, occupations, international trade, and industries. Also shows "The U.S. Economy at a Glance."
U.S. Department of the Treasury
The "steward of U.S. economic and financial systems" offers reports on the economy and budget as well as other issues.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License