This guide contains resources to help you research place, as well as general information about using the Library and the College & Lutheran Church Archives. Take some time to wander the space, get to know various study areas and browse our books, movies and magazines.
Since you are new to the library, consult our Library FAQs and overview of the Library. We also have a guide on how to do research well - use it to brush up and expand your research skills! And since everyone can use a refresher on how to find books in the library, we have a guide for that, too.
Research can be both exciting and frustrating. Fortunately, there are lots of people on campus who can help.
You can always email Julie with any questions or to schedule a meeting. I'm happy to help with any and all of your research questions. Or if you just want to chat about your topic & create a strategy for searching, we can do that, too.
The easiest way to access news articles, whether for this course or another one, is through these databases. This will get you around any paywalls you might encounter if you were just searching Google for newspaper articles.
To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage. We also have a guide that further explains how to search the catalog and find books in the library.
When you find books that look useful, write down the Call Number. Your book will have this call number on its spine label. Most - but not all - books are in the General Collection. Use the information below to figure out where your book lives:
General Collection, call numbers A - PQ are on the Third Floor
General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor
Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side
Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side
Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance
Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First Floor
AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First Floor
Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library).
Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.
You can check books out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc.
You may or may not need to find articles for your research. It's useful to know how to find articles, however, especially as you'll need to do this for other classes. The library provides access to dozens and dozens of article databases. Each database has a particular focus. Some are for specific areas of study (like biology or international relations), some are for newspapers articles, and others contain information on all kinds of topics. Here are some of the most popular databases; use the Scientific Approach tab for database recommendations for your topics.
Once you've found some articles, you'll probably want to narrow down your results. You can always add additional terms to your search to narrow the focus. Use the Search Tips tab at the top of this guide for tips.
When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two and is FREE for you. Consult the Tracking Down Materials tab for more information or email Julie.
We've got a one-stop guide for doing citations in some of the major styles. You can always ask a librarian if you've got a tricky citation and aren't sure what to do. We also encourage you to visit the Writing Center for writing help.
If you want a refresher from our library session, the slides from class are posted here.
