LibGuides: Book and Film Awards: Film Awards

Film Awards

This page provide links to award-winning films in the Library collection, links to searching for more films in the Library, and additional resources about film.

Edison's greatest marvel--The Vitascope. Retrieved from the Library of Congress, www.loc.gov/item/2003689462/.

Film Awards

The Library collects award-winning films to support the curriculum - and for leisure viewing! Click the name of each award to find films on our collection.

Find More Films

Find more films in the Library's collection.

Library Catalog
Looking for a specific film? Limit your search to "Source Type: Video."
Streaming Video
Link to all streaming videos currently licensed by the library.

Using Films in the Library

Click the links below for more information on loan policies, equipment, and spaces for viewing films.

Using DVDs in the Library

DVDs are located in the Audiovisual collection on the lower level of the library, shelved by call number
The DVD loan period for students is 7 days (shorter if the DVD is on Course Reserves)
Two preview rooms are available for student use on the lower level of the Library
Portable DVD drives are available for check-out at the Information Desk (main level)

Selected Reference Works on Film

The Encyclopedia of Epic Films
Call Number: Reference PN1995.9.E79 S25 2014
The Encyclopedia of Racism in American Films by Salvador Jiménez Murguía (Editor)
Call Number: Reference PN1995.9.M56 E53 2018
The Encyclopedia of Sexism in American Films by Salvador Jiménez Murguía (Editor); Erica Joan Dymond (Editor); Kristina Fennelly (Editor)
Call Number: Reference P96.S5 E539 2020
Historical Dictionary of African American Cinema by S. Torriano Berry; Venise T. Berry
Call Number: Reference PN1995.9.B585 B433 2015
Historical Dictionary of American Cinema by M. Keith Booker
Call Number: Reference PN1993.5.U6 B566 2021
Queer Cinema in America: An Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Films, Characters, and Stories by Aubrey Malone
Call Number: Reference PN1995.9.H55 M25 2020
Race in American Film: Voices and Visions the Shaped a Nation
Call Number: Reference PN1995.9.B585 R33 2017 (v. 1-3)