Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog with browsing shelf areas for your topic.
Of course, books related to gender, knowledge, and reality can be found in various classification areas around the library. A few examples:
Note: The Library of Congress classification system was "first developed in the late 19th and early 20th centuries to organize the book collections of the Library of Congress" (Library of Congress Classification) and continues to reflect the bias of that time and place. In addition, terminology within the system does not always keep pace with current usage. Librarians continue to work to rectify this.
Tip: For help finding books, visit the Finding Books in the Library guide.
Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog with browsing shelf areas for your topic. Below is a brief listing of some of the subject locations related to Gender, Women & Sexuality Studies.
HQ - The Family. Marriage. Women.
Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog with browsing shelf areas for your topic. Below is a brief listing of some of the subject locations in the field of philosophy.
Feminist Philosophies A-Z by 
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender by 
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies by 
The Wiley Blackwell Encyclopedia of Gender and Sexuality Studies, 5 Volume Set by Reference works (such as encyclopedias, handbooks, and dictionaries) provide overviews of a topic. Reference works must remain in the library so everyone has a chance to use them, so be prepared to take notes or scan a copy of the entries or essays you need. Tip: Visit the Finding Books in the Library guide.
The Gustavus Library is committed to fostering an inclusive and welcoming environment for all our patrons. We acknowledge that harmful and outdated language or terminology exists in catalog records for our materials, though, and we would welcome your help in identifying such instances.
If you encounter any language that you consider to be harmful or offensive to yourself or others, please use this form to report it and suggest alternative language. We will contact the Library of Congress to request that changes be made whenever we come across items under their purview and will supplement our own descriptions with more respectful terms as necessary. We also direct you to our entire Harmful Language Statement for more information.
Do you have a recommendation for a book to add to the Gustavus collection? We welcome suggestions from Gustavus faculty, staff, and students through our Acquisitions Order Form.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
