LibGuides: POL 120: Native American Politics: Finding Sources

Finding Articles

Search library databases to get access to scholarly articles. You will probably find a lot of information (but sometimes you find no information!). Be persistent, try various search terms, and above all, ask for help if you're stuck. Read the database descriptions to make sure you know which field you're searching.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Find Books in the Gustavus Library

To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage. Use our guide to finding books for more on how to use the online catalog and find books on the shelves.

When you find books that look useful, write down the Collection & the Call Number.

General Collection, call numbers A - PQ are on the Third Floor

General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side

Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side

Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance

Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First Floor

AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First Floor

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library).

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby. You can check books and other materials out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc.

Native News Sources

These resources will connect you to Native news sources. These are just a small sample of the content available from Native journalists and podcasters, so also try some google searches to find more.

News Sites

Podcasts

Databases

American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism This link opens in a new window
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
Ethnic Diversity Source (New!) This link opens in a new window
New for Fall 2023! Ethnic Diversity Source covers the culture, traditions, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides the full text of nearly 500 journals, including almost 400 peer reviewed journals. It also provides access to the Diversity and Ethnic Studies collection of more than 5,000 ebooks.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Covers issues related to race in society today. Includes content such as topical essays written by subject experts, full text journal articles, and primary source documents.

POL 120: Native American Politics: Finding Sources

Overview

Finding Articles

Find Books in the Gustavus Library

Native News Sources