LibGuides: A Guide to Greek, Latin &amp; Classical Studies: Reference Works

Featured Reference Work

Brill's New Pauly by Hubert Cancik (Editor); Helmut Schneider (Editor); Manfred Landfester (Editor); Christine F. Salazar (Editor)
ISBN: 9004122591
Publication Date: 2003-12-01

Reference Works in Related Fields

Since Classics is interdisciplinary by nature and Classical thinkers, artists and historical figures continue to affect modern thought, you may find your research takes you to related fields like art and philosophy. The following are a few resources to help jump start your research.

Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Ref B 51 .E53 2006
A recent update of a classic source of substantial essays on philosophers and their ideas. All of the articles and references have been updated to reflect current philosophical thought, and many entries have been added for contemporary issues and philosophers.
Dictionary of Art - Ref N 31 .D5 1996
An exhaustive encyclopedia of world art, containing articles written by scholars on artists, movements, works, and subjects, each followed by a selective bibliography.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture - Ref N5610 .G76 2007 (2 vols.)
Presents over 1,000 articles on the visual arts in the classical world. Includes bibliographies.
Oxford Guide to Classical Mythology in the Arts, 1300-1900s - Ref NX 650 .M9 R45 1993
Links Classical subjects and Western art, cataloging under topics, the various expressions of each topic in the fine arts, music, dance, and literature. While it does not claim to be exhaustive, it does provide background information and intriguing connections; includes bibliographic references to published sources for the art works listed.

Recommended Reference Works

Reference books are excellent resources. They provide overviews of topics & acquaint you with major themes, trends and thinkers. They help you narrow your topic by delving into subtopics and related research. They also are a great resource for basic definitions and facts. Reference books are located on the Beck Hall side of the library on the main floor. This box contains reference books related to Classics, listed in alphabetical order.

Ancient Writers: Greece and Rome - Ref PA 3002 .A5 1982
Covers major writers chronologically from Homer to Ammianus Marcellinus, as well as selected topics such as Greek lyric poets and Hellenistic poetry at Alexandria. Each of the forty-seven essays are written by an expert on the topic. They are detailed and lengthy and are each followed by a long selective bibliography of primary and secondary sources.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World - Ref DE 5 .N4813 2002 (Antiquities) Ref DE5 .P33213 2006 (Classical Tradition
An English translation of a new edition of a German-language classic. Covers topics on antiquity with scholarly articles reflecting current research. The companion set covers the classical tradition and how the Greek and Roman world has influenced our understanding in more recent times.
Cambridge Ancient History - Ref D 57 .C252
This authoritative history covers the ancient world chronologically.
Gods and Mortals in Classical Mythology - Ref BL 715 .G67 1973
Identifies people and gods, providing references to the myths and literature in which they are mentioned. There are a number of fine illustrations, many of them reproductions of later western art that employs classical iconography.
Greek Literature - Ref PA 3054 .G74 2001
A compendium of writings by philological scholars on ancient Greek literature from the oral tradition and Homer to Greek literature during the Roman and Byzantine periods.
Oxford Classical Dictionary - Ref DE 5 .O9 1996
Covers people, places, events, works of art, figures in mythology, etc. in alphabetical order providing concise and informative articles.
Oxford Companion to Classical Literature - Ref PA 31 .H69 1989
A handy guide to writers and works from the Classical times, giving concise discussions on the social and cultural context of the literature.
Place-Names in Classical Mythology: Greece - Ref DF 16 .B45
Provides descriptions of places referred to in Classical mythology and literature. In many cases references are made to literature in which the place is significant.

Librarian

Jeff Jenson

Email Me

Contact:

You can find me in the College and Lutheran Church Archives, the offices above the library's main entrance.

Subjects: Archives, Environmental Studies, Geography, Greek, Latin & Classical Studies, Gustavus History, History, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies, Religion, Special Collections and Rare Books