Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Encyclopedia of Philosophy by
Publication Date: 2005-12-16
General Reference Works
Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Ref B 51 .E53 2006
A recent update of a classic source of substantial essays on philosophers and their ideas. All of the articles and references have been updated to reflect current philosophical thought, and many entries have been added for contemporary issues and philosophers.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Ref B 51 .R68 1998
A vast encyclopedia of the field that extends the classic Encyclopedia of Philosophy by adding both new topics and approaches to philosophy, but also by including new approaches and new research on classical philosophy. New areas covered in this work include philosophical approaches based on feminism, postcolonialism, poststructuralism, deconstruction, and postmodernism.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A free encyclopedia written by scholars.
Branches of Philosophy
Companion to the Philosophy of Mind - Ref BD 48.3 .C62 1994
Covers concepts such as desire, consciousness, imagination, language of thought, memory, and the will in lengthy essays. There are also essays by prominent philosophers on their won theory as well as an extensive introductory "essay on mind." This is not a source for quick definitions, but rather a collection of survey essays that delve into the concepts explored.
Encyclopedia of Aesthetics - Ref BH 56 .E53 1998
Covers individuals, concepts, periods, theories, and movements in aesthetics, with each essay written by a specialist.
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics - Ref BJ 63 .E53 2012
Offers excellent overviews of ways in which a wide variety of issues can be analyzed from an ethical standpoint. Includes articles on such topics as advertising, affirmative action, fetal research, religion in schools, and many other topics.
Bioethics - Ref QH332 .E52 2014 (v. 1-6)
Covers issues and controversies in bioethics in lengthy, scholarly articles, each one accompanied by a current bibliography of key sources.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy - Ref GE 42 .E533 2009
This two-volume set offers substantial essays from a philosophical perspective on broad topics such as agriculture, environmental activism, and food as well as more focused coverage of specific topics such as animal cloning and transgenic animals. Includes a glossary and a number of key documents.
Encyclopedia of Ethics - Ref BJ 63 .E45 2001
Provides articles on ethical theory, including history, major traditions, and ethical issues related to law, social problems, technology, economic systems, and other issues.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment - Ref B 802 .E53 2002 (4 vols.)
Offers a broad range of entries about individuals and concepts related to the Enlightenment in Europe and America.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas - Ref CB 9 .N49 2005
Covers a wide range of ideas historically and internationally. Particularly strong for overviews of current ideas taken in historical context, listing essential and significant texts that contributed to the development of concepts.
Philosophy of Science: An Encyclopedia - Ref Q 174.7 .P55 2006
An excellent source for overviews of philosophers and their ideas as well as essays on theories and concepts in science from a philosophical angle.
Routledge Companion to Ethics - Ref BJ21 .R68 2010
Covers history of ethics, meta-ethics, ideas and methods from outside ethics, perspectives in ethics, morality, and debates in ethics. Entries include short bibliographies.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License