Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Countries and Their Cultures - Ref GN 307 .C68 2001
This set covers both national cultures of 225 countries and the cultures of diverse groups within their borders. Covers history, ethnic relations, political life, and religion.
Encyclopedia of Anthropology - Ref GN 11 .E63 2006
This five-volume set is a unique collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical/ biological anthropology, archaeology, cultural/social anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Special attention is given to hominid evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, cross-cultural studies, social theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.
Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology - Ref GN 307 .E52 1996
Offers 340 articles covering sub fields, major concepts, methods of data collection and analysis, topics of interest to anthropologists (such as marriage, games, naming, and crime), regions, theories, controversies in the field, professional topics, and major topics from related fields (such as linguistics and archaeology). All articles were contributed by experts and include lengthy selective bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture - Ref GT 2850 .E53 2003
A wide-ranging exploration of food and its cultural significance worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Prehistory - Ref GN 710 .E53 2001
Arranged according to "major traditions," groups of populations that existed in a geographic area over a period of time (e.g. Early Dynastic Egypt or West African Neolithic). A cultural summary describes each tradition, as well as sub-traditions with detailed cultural summaries.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures - Ref GN 550 .E53 1991
Covers over 1500 culture groups, alphabetically arranged within regions. The information summarizes information on the distribution, belief systems, kinship structures, and history of the groups and provides selective bibliographies for further research. Consult the index to determine the appropriate name for a particular culture group.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of American Regional Cultures - Ref E 179.5 .G744 2004
Covers eight regions, offering insight into their culture and aspects of popular culture, religion, food, folklore, and language.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology - Ref GN 307 .E525 2012
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Urban and Regional Studies - Ref HT 166 .O778 2019
Provides comprehensive coverage of major topics in urban and regional studies. This definitive reference work covers central and emergent topics in the field, through an examination of urban and regional conditions and variation across the world. It also provides authoritative entries on the main conceptual tools used by anthropologists, sociologists, geographers, and political scientists in the study of cities and regions.
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life - Ref GN 333 .W67 2009
Offers lengthy articles on over 500 culture groups worldwide. Each article surveys the location and homeland of the people and covers a wealth of information on such topics as their language, folklore, religion, rites of passage, interpersonal relations, living conditions, family life, cultural heritage, work, and social issues. Each entry includes a selective bibliography.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License