Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
German on the Internet (Goethe Institut)
A catalog of annotated links in the categories of arts, culture, language, economy, politics, law, science, tourist accommodations and attractions, cities, media, and more. The directory is available in English and German; the resources linked to are in a variety of languages including German, English, Spanish, French, and Italian. From the Goethe-Institut Inter Nationes.
German Studies Resources
From the University of Manitoba Libraries, this extensive site lists online resources for literature, film, history, language and media.
Germany: A Country Study
A detailed current profile and historical overview of Germany, with separate sections on its geography, economy, government, transportation and telecommunications, foreign relations, national security, languages, religions, and people and society. Includes a glossary, bibliography, and statistical tables. Searchable. The bulk of the website was written in 1994, with updates. >From the Library of Congress's Country Studies
DEFA Film Library: Cinema of East Germany
The DEFA [(Deutsche Film-Aktiengesellschaft)] Film Library "is the only archive and study center outside Europe devoted to the study of the cinema of the former GDR [German Democratic Republic] as well as films dealing with Eastern Germany since unification." The site features a list of available films, and a variety of teaching and resource materials, including bibliographies, information about DEFA film criticism, a list of archives and study centers, a discussion list, and related links. Searchable. [description from LII.org]
German Propaganda Archive
Features propaganda from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic (East Germany). "The goal is to help people understand the two great totalitarian systems of the twentieth century by giving them access to the primary material." Texts of speeches, posters and cartoons, excerpts from other writings, and related websites are organized into subject areas. Created and maintained by a professor at Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Mich. [description from LII.org]
German Studies Web
A searchable and browsable directory of links to "scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries." Topics include books, information technology and librarianship, literature, art, German-language newspapers, library catalogs, reference sources, and digital texts and images. Briefly annotated. [description from LII.org]
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach-und Literaturwissenschaf
The major bibliography for German language and literature. Commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer K�ttelwesch, it has been produced since 1957 by the library at the university at Frankfurt/Main. Each volume of the BDSL contains over 15,000 references from books, magazines and newspapers to articles about German language and literature. Volumes from 1985-1997 are freely available online.
Digitized texts by German authors, arranged by alphabetically by author's last name.
Projekt Gutenberg - DE
Digital texts by German authors. Hosted by Der Spiegel. The German counterpart to the English edition.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License