Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Der grosse Brockhaus - Ref AE 27.G67
The first post-World War edition of one of Europe's most respected encyclopedias.
Encyklopaedie des allgemeinen Wissens (Meyers Konversations-Lexikon) - Ref AE27 .M57 1885
A 19th century encyclopedia that offers a historical perspective on a variety of topics, as well as information considered important to German readers of the period.
History and Culture
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture - Ref DD290.26 .E53 1999
Covers both "high" and popular culture and includes entries on various topics including architecture, art, film, mass media and publishing, and politics. A large number of entries are also dedicated to biographical sketches of writers.
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich - Ref DD256.5.G76313 1991
A German encyclopedia translated into English. Covers people, events, organizations, treaties, ideological jargon and other topics associated with the Third Reich. Includes photographs, cartoons and pictures of propaganda posters.
Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia - Ref DD157.M43 2001
Covering the society and culture of German and Dutch speaking Europe during medieval times, this resouce provides articles on major people, places, historical events, art and daily life. Fields covered include art history, literature, philosophy and religion.
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People and Culture, 1871-1990 - Ref DD14.M64 1998
This encyclopedia covers modern German history and contains entries on politics, literature, art, religion, the media, science and society. Biographical sketches are also included.
Encyclopedia of German Literature - Ref PT41.E43 2000
This resource contains both author and topical entries. Author entries provide brief biographical information and provide an overview of the author's works. Topical entries consist of a variety of topics related to German literature, including "Avant-garde", "Jewish culture and literature", "Nationalism and nationhood", "Literary salons" and "Utopianism."
Oxford Companion to German Literature - Ref PT41.G3 1997
A collection of brief definitions and discussions of authors, works of literature, literary movements, and terms associated with language and literature. Includes all periods and all places where German is spoken and written.
Women Writers of Germany, Austria, and Switzerland: An Annotated Bio-Bibliographical Guide - Ref PT167.W66 1989
Each author entry includes a brief biography, followed by a detailed listing of her works, with annotations. Appendices list the authors chronologically and geographically, and there is a bibliography of secondary literature.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License