Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Classics Journals in Print
Journal of Hellenic Studies
Journal of Roman Archaeology
Journal of Roman Studies
When you have an article with references, you can see if a particular reference is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
These three databases offer different approaches to finding classics scholarship. Classicists find them useful in different ways.
This database is really an archive of the full text of many journals in different disciplines, not including the most recent 3-5 years. When you search, you may want to restrict results to the field of classics and perhaps to articles (if you want to exclude book reviews)
This site searches the table of contents for a selection of Classics journals. Links to full text articles (when available) and abstracts are provided. You may need to use the list of Journal Abbreviations within the database to decode the complete citation. If you find an article that isn't full text on the site, use the "Do We Have This Journal" link on the library's homepage to see if Gustavus has access, by entering the title of the journal into the search box.
This annual listing of new publications in the field of classics has been compiled since 1928. The lists of publications can now be searched online. In a sense, this is like TOCS-IN, but more complete (especially for past research) and with an interesting feature for browsing by topic. It’s an international index, so you may want to use the filters to focus on publications in English. Note, too, that some things included may be tricky to obtain via interlibrary loan - e.g. dissertations and theses, conference papers, and reports from archaeological sites that may not have been formally published.
Classics Research Guide
In addition to the resources on this page, you will also want to consult the Classics Research Guide for more ideas.
Other Handy Tools
Though not specific to Classics, these resources may be helpful in your research.
Search thousands of libraries and use the FindIt @ Gustavus link to fill out an interlibrary loan form.
Google has scanned around 20 million books in libraries around the world. You can search and see if a word, phrase, or name appears in one of these scanned books. Books published before 1923 are available in full text. Other books may only show snippets, or may include sample pages selected by the publisher.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Using Cited Sources as Clues
Every time you find a useful source, pay attention to the sources its author cites. This is a hand-picked list of relevant publications. It may be that you find more on-target sources in lists of works cited than by searching databases.
To get your hands on these sources, first find out whether its available here. If it's a book or chapter of a book, search our catalog by the title of the book (not the chapter). If it's a journal article, check our Journals List, which will tell you if it's in one of our databases or in print downstairs.
If it's not available here, request it through interlibrary loan. To do that, login from the library's main page, click on the ILL Requests tab, then select either book or journal for a blank form. Fill it out, and wait for an email that will alert you when the book or article has arrived.
Finding Abbreviated Journal Titles
Librarian: Julie Gilbert
Think of me as your librarian for this course. Feel free to get in contact with me about any research questions you may have. (And if your question is pressing, you are always welcome to talk with any librarian at the reference desk or consult with the students at the front desk if a librarian is not on duty.)
There are lots of ways to reach me. Email me with questions, stop by the library, or use the link below to set up an appointment. It's fast and easy to do: http://www.meetme.so/JulieGilbert
My reference hours for spring 2017 are Mondays 2:30 - 4:30 (at the reference desk) and Wednesdays 1:00 - 2:30 (on call - ask for me at the front desk).
Call me x7552
Or email firstname.lastname@example.org
*Special thanks to Michelle Twait for creating this guide.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License