Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Article Databases
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
MLA International Bibliography
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
Project Muse Basic College Collection
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.
Journals Online & In Print
To find more film journals available in our library, search the "Journals List" box to the right.
Use "film" as a keyword.
Alphaville: Journal of Film and Screen Media
Peer reviewed online film journal with articles on all aspects of film history, theory and criticism through multiple research methodologies and perspectives. (2011-present)
American Film: Journal of the film and television arts
GAC Bernadotte Library Periodicals - Lower Level (1975-1992)
Published by the American Film Institute and the AMS Foundation for the Arts, Sciences and Humanities, etc.
Black Film Review
Feature articles and interviews dedicated exclusively to the work and concerns of black film makers in America and the world; news notes, film reviews and the changing role of women in film. (1992-1994)
Bright Lights Film Journal
Online journal featuring short pieces (reviews of single movies, DVDs, books) and more substantial studies of directors and other key production figures (cinematographers and producers, for example), analyses of genres, studios and studio style, and topics like gender and minority contributions to film. (1996-present)
Film and History
Studies how history is being shaped by media & how media are being shaped by history. Examines the evolution of genre over time & how the changes in genre formulas are affected by contemporary pressures. Reviews relevant books, films & TV specials. (1971-present)
GAC Bernadotte Library Periodicals - Lower Level (1962-present)
Published bi-monthly by the Film Society of Lincoln Center, Film Comment contains critical essays, interviews, festival coverage, and reviews.
Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?
When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
Evaluating Journals and Magazines
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License