Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Reference Work
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .E52 2001b v. 1-2
Publication Date: 2001
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women
Call Number: Ref HQ1115 .R69 2000
Recommended Reference Works
The titles listed below give you a sense of some of the key reference works available for GWS. We have many other reference sources that deal with all aspects of GWS topics; they are far too numerous to list. Any of our librarians would be happy to help you find additional information. You can also browse the call number areas (mainly HQ) to find other resources.
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender - Ref HQ16 .E52 2007
Broad theoretical essays address issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; others examine issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation - all through the lens of gender.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender: Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender - Ref HQ 1115 .E52 2001b
Provides long, in-depth articles on topics on current research about the psychology of women and gender. Includes topics such as gender and achievement, aging, child care, and body image concerns.
Women's Studies Encyclopedia - Ref HQ 1115 .W645 1999
Provides short articles on a wide variety of topics.
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge - Ref HQ 1115 .R69 2000
This resource includes articles on topics related to the arts, literature, culture, economy, education, health, history of feminism, politics, religion, science, etc. Articles provide overviews of topics and include information from world viewpoints and on world conditions whenever possible.
Women in World History - Ref HQ1115 .W6 1999 (17 vols.)
A biographical encyclopedia offering entries on 10,000 women from around the world. Includes indexes by era, geography, occupation, and name.
Dictionary of Feminist Theory - Ref HQ 1115 .H86 1995
Covers theoretical issues in feminism and is particularly useful for putting them in historical context. Helpful for pinpointing primary documents relating to feminist theory.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License