LibGuides: ENG 334: Victorian Age: Articles

Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Search the Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

Journals

Check the list below for full text availability of the journals you may use for your research proposal. To access the full text, enter the journal title in the "Journals List" box on this screen, or use the "Do We Have This Journal?" link on the library homepage.

Comparative Literature - Full text from 2012 and earlier available online; request more recent issues through Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
English Literature in Transition, 1880-1920 - Current full text available online and in paper (paper to 2016, library lower level)
Journal of Victorian Culture - Request through ILL
Nineteenth-Century Contexts - Request through ILL
Nineteenth-Century Literature - Current full text available online.
PMLA (Publications of the Modern Language Association of America) - Current full text available online.
Studies in English Literature 1500-1900 - Current full text available online.
Tulsa Studies in Women's Literature - Current full text available online.
Victorian Literature and Culture - Current issues available in paper (paper to 2016, library lower level)
Victorian Studies - Current full text available online.

Recommended Article Databases

MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Fully covers over 2,300 arts and humanities journals, and also includes some individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Some of the disciplines covered include archaeology, linguistics, art, literature, music, philosophy, dance, history, religion and theater.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."