Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Works?
Specialized reference works such as encyclopedias provide overviews and can give you a good sense of what's out there and what different approaches are being taken to a given topic. Most of our reference sources are located in the Reference Collection on the main floor of the library. Some are available online.
Atlas of British History - Ref G1811.S1 G5 1993
Columbia Companion to British History - Ref DA34 .H64 1997
Elements of Style: An Encyclopedia of Domestic Architectural Detail - Ref NA 2850 .E445 2005
Encyclopedia of Britain - Ref DA27.5 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000 - Ref HN373 .E63 2001
6 vols. Offers substantial, well-documented survey essays on topics such as social change, urban and rural life, gender, popular culture, religion, and everyday life.
Encyclopedia of Victorian Literature - Ref PR451 .E553 2015 (v. 1-4)
Covers the literary genres, figures, and themes such as cosmopolitanism, journalism, race, and sexuality, in Victorian studies.
Fashion: Critical and Primary Sources - Ref GT 580 .F374 2009 (v. 1-4)
Critical essays on fashion cover four time periods: Late Medieval to Renaissance, Eighteenth Century, Nineteenth Century, and Twentieth Century to today.
International Historical Statistics: Europe - Ref HA 1107 .M55 2007
Comparative historical statistics for Europe.
Oxford Companion to British History - Ref DA34 .O93 1997
Stanford Companion to Victorian Fiction - Ref PR871 .S87 1989
Victorian Britain: An Encyclopedia - Ref DA550 .V53 1988
Fall 2020 reference (research) help:
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License