LibGuides: NDL 202: Research Methods in Geochemistry: Searching for Published Research

Chemistry News from C&EN

Important Databases for Scientists

The American Chemical Society produces the most complete and complex database of chemical literature, but there are others that can be part of your toolkit. Here are some options. It's worth your while to spend some time exploring Sci Finder because, while there's a learning curve, it's incredibly powerful and if you go on to further study in chemistry, you'll be glad you did. Below you'll also find specialized databases for biology, earth sciences, and geology, as well as general science databases.

SciFinder-n (new in 2022) This link opens in a new window
What's new?
We now have access to a new-and-improved interface, SciFinder-n. If you are already a SciFinder user, you can access it with your existing username and password. If you are a new to SciFinder, see the instructions below for creating your account.

Get Started with SciFinder-n: Create Your Account
Before you access SciFinder-n from the web for the first time, you must create your own SciFinder-n username and password from on campus. To begin the user registration process, go to the User Registration Page from on campus. For more information, see the SciFinder User Registration Guide (PDF file). After you have gone through the user registration process, use your SciFinder-n username and password to log in from on campus or remotely.

About SciFinder-n
In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in the original SciFinder, SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. To find full text of articles or to request them from other libraries, click on "link to other sources." You may need to enable popups on your browser for this window to open.
GeoRefS This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. It is international in scope, and citations date from 1785 to the present.
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.

People are like plants...

"People are like plants: they grow toward the light. I chose science because science gave me what I needed--a home as defined in the most literal sense: a safe place to be."

--Hope Jahren (Jahren Laboratory, Stable Isotope Biogeochemistry at the University of Oslo), Lab Girl, 2016

Librarian

Anna Hulseberg

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Environment, Geography and Earth Sciences, Gender, Women and Sexuality Studies, Nursing, Philosophy, Theatre and Dance