Finding Secondary Sources - FTS: Nero – Emperor, Artist, and Anti-Christ

Browsing for Books

One of the best ways to find information is through browsing. Books are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. Books in Classics are in several areas in the library (listed below). Go ahead and peruse the shelves - you never know what you'll find!

B 108-708 Ancient Philosophy
BL 175-325 Natural Theology, Myth
CB History of Civilization
CC Archaeology
D History (General)
- 51-95 Ancient
DE Mediterranean Region. Greco-Roman World
DF 10-298 Greek History
DG 11-365 Ancient Italy, Rome to 476
GN Anthropology
N Fine Arts (arranged by type of media, e.g. architecture, pottery, painting...)
- 5300-7418 Art History
P Philosophy and Linguisitcs
PA Classical Languages and Literature
- 227-1179 Greek Philology and Language
- 2001-2915 Latin Philology and Language
- 3051-4500 Greek Literature to ca. 600AD

The General, Reference, and Special Collections can be searched in the Gustavus Library catalog, available under the Search tab on the library homepage. (You can also use the search bar below.)

Advanced search · Books, videos, and music

Tips & Tricks for Browsing the Catalog

Quotation Marks

Put phrases in quotation marks to search for the entire phrase.

Searching for native american will find results with the word "native" or the word "american."

Searching for "native american" will find results about Native Americans.

Boolean Operators

Boolean (BOO-LEE-IN) operators are another useful way to refine your search.

Put the word AND (in ALL-CAPS) between two keywords and your search will pull up only results that have *both* keywords.

Put the word OR (in ALL-CAPS) between two keywords and your search will pull up results that have either one keyword, or the other, or both.

Searching by Location

If you only want to search the Reference section, you can do a search such as the following.

Your Topic Keyword AND b8:reference

For example: Desegregation AND b8:reference

Other searchable sections include: audio visual, periodicals, oversize, and general collection.

Filters

Once you are on the results page, you can limit a search by checking the filter boxes on the left hand side.

Some ways to filter include:

language
format (e.g. DVD)
date published
author and subject

You can also check the box for Minitex and Worldcat to search larger networks of libraries. If you need a book from another library, click into the record, click the "Request from another library" box, and submit the form that auto-populates.

Locating Books in the Stacks

Some Useful Databases for finding Scholarly Articles

L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Annual index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome (500 BCE to 800 CE). The most complete index available for classics, this resource includes over 375,000 citations to articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, and essays on all aspects of Greek and Latin cultures, including literature, language, art, archaeology, philosophy, and religion. International in scope, it indexes works in all languages. NOTE: Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.

TOCS-IN
This site searches the table of contents for a selection of Classics journals. Links to full text articles (when available) and abstracts are provided. You may need to use the list of Journal Abbreviations within the database to decode the complete citation. If you find an article that isn't full text on the site, use the "Do We Have This Journal" link on the library's homepage to see if Gustavus has access, by entering the title of the journal into the search box.

Project Muse Basic College Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Fully covers over 2,300 arts and humanities journals, and also includes some individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Some of the disciplines covered include archaeology, linguistics, art, literature, music, philosophy, dance, history, religion and theater.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text backfiles to over 350 scholarly journals from more than 25 academic disciplines published between the 19th and 21st centuries in the JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, Arts & Sciences II, and Language & Literature collections. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year. To limit your search to full text articles, make sure that the option to "include links to external content" is turned off.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.

FTS: Nero – Emperor, Artist, and Anti-Christ: Finding Secondary Sources

About Secondary Sources

On this Page