Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Library!
This guide contains resources to help you find and evaluate sources, as well as general information about using the Library. Take some time to wander the space, get to know various study areas and browse our books, movies and magazines. Don't hesitate to ask anyone at the Information Desk or Reference Desk if you have any questions - or send me an email. My contact information is below my picture and I love hearing from students.
You can also find links to information like library hours and circulations policies (like how long you can check out books), as well as a bunch of other information on the Library's main page. Please explore the website just like you will explore the building itself. Consult our Library FAQs and an overview of the Library.
Gah! I need help!
Research is difficult and nobody expects you to know how to do it all on your own. Check with your teacher if you aren't sure how to approach your assignment or want a second opinion on sources and strategies.
Stop by the Writing Center at any point during the process for expert advice from your talented peers. The Academic Support Center can help with issues such as time management and organization.
Connect with librarians for any and all research questions. If you're in the library, visit the reference desk (located at the Information Desk right inside the front doors) and chat with a librarian on duty. If no librarian is there, take your question to the Information Desk. Our student workers are trained to answer basic reference questions and to help you connect with a librarian.
You can also contact a librarian directly or request an appointment. All information can be found here.
Emil me with any questions or to schedule a meeting - I'm happy to help with any and all of your research questions. Or if you just want to chat about your topic & create a strategy for searching, we can do that, too.
The Library has several other research guides that might help with your persuasive paper, depending on your topic. Here are some recommended ones:
Citing Your Sources
We've got a one-stop guide for doing citations in some of the major styles. You can always ask a librarian if you've got a tricky citation and aren't sure what to do. We also encourage you to visit the Writing Center for writing help.
To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage.
When you find books that look useful, write down the Collection & the Call Number.
- General Collection, call numbers A - PQ are on the Third Floor
- General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor
- Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side
- Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side
- Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance
- Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First Floor
- AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First Floor
Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library).
Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.
You can check books out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc. And this page gives even more detail about finding books in our library.
To find articles, try these databases, which will connect you with all kinds of sources. You will probably find a lot of information (but sometimes you find no information!). Be persistent, try various search terms, and above all, ask for help if you're stuck. Send me an email with any questions or to set up a time to meet.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Grove Music Online (Oxford Music Online)
The online counterpart to the New Grove Dictionary of Music, this reference source contains articles on composers, performers, styles, genres, world music, instruments, and much more. This title is available through Oxford Music Online and can be cross-searched with The Oxford Dictionary of Music and The Oxford Companion to Music. The print version is also available in the reference collection. Note: This resource is limited to one user at a time.
Music and Dance Online
This large collection includes a variety of music and dance content, including classical scores; classical music in video; American, jazz, and world music; dance in video, and more.
ProQuest US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Indexes scholarly sources on music and related disciplines, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, instruments and voice, dance, music therapy, music librarianship, the physics of music, and other fields as they relate to music. The majority of citations include abstracts.
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Once you've found some articles, you'll probably want to narrow down your results. You can always add additional terms to your search to narrow the focus. Use the Search Tips tab at the top of this guide for tips.
- Newspapers are good for very specific news items or recent events.
- Magazine articles reflect a popular approach to issues and are often short and simple in style.
- Articles in academic journals report on research and are sometimes quite long and complex. Concentrate on the abstract (a one-paragraph summary that sometimes is at the beginning of the article), the introduction, and the last paragraphs.
When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two and is FREE for you. Consult the Tracking Down Materials tab for more information.
Find Something Fun to Read or Watch - near main entrance
Library Session Slides
If you want a refresher from our library session, the slides from class are posted here.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License