LibGuides: GEG 242: Research Methods in Geography: GIS & Geospatial Data

Data Portals & Geospatial Data

This page includes a selection of data portals and geospatial data sites. Librarians can help you search for additional data sites relevant to your topic.

"Shriveled and Cracked" by U.S. Geological Survey is licensed as public domain

Ask Us!

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)

Data Portals & Geospatial Data

Data.gov
A data portal from the U.S. government. Includes geospatial data.
Demographic Yearbook
Published by the United Nations, the Demographic Yearbook offers demographic and social statistics on a wide range of topics.
U.S. Census Bureau
The source for statistical data collected by the United States government on the U.S. population. Browse or search by topic or click "QuickFacts" for state and county profiles.
Library of Congress Geography and Map Reading Room Digital Collections
These collections include digital copies of historical items as well as more contemporary digital cartography and geospatial data. Over a million images from the historical collections are freely available online, alongside a selection of its contemporary digital materials.
National Center for Education Statistics
Statistics from the the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Center for Health Statistics
A wealth of data compiled by the Centers for Disease Control.
Minnesota Geospatial Commons
Maps at MNHS: Online Resources (Minnesota Historical Society)
A guide to accessing maps and other geospatial resources at MNHS. Includes the first government land survey from 1848 to 1907, recent Bureau of Land Management maps, and more.
Hennepin County Geographic Information Systems
Open Ramsey County
Open Data Minneapolis
Open Information St. Paul
Map Collections, 1500-2004
from the Library of Congress. Historically important maps organized thematically.
National Map: The Nation's Topographic Map for the 21st Century
The viewer allows users to zoom in on any part of the U.S. and choose map layers that include elevation, roads, water, land use, and even detailed aerial satellite images. Whether you're examining a region, a state, or a few city blocks, this tool offers access to a wealth of cartographic information.
Perry Castaneda Library Map Collection
From the General Libraries, University of Texas at Austin, this site provides an excellent and frequently updated list of over 2,400 online maps in digital form. Organized primarily by region and country, this site also includes maps of current interest, linked to world events.

World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
WDI is a database of global information and statistics compiled yearly.

Geography Software at Gustavus - Connect via Gustavus Virtual Lab
Gustavus Virtual Lab allows students remote access to a full virtual desktop lab machine. Use Virtual Lab to connect to Geography software from your personal machine or from labs (such as the Library labs) at which the Geography software is not installed.