What's the difference between articles, journals, and databases? Articles are published in journals. Journals are indexed in databases such as Academic Search Premier.
How can I find the full text of articles? Most databases include links for full text access. Visit our Tracking Down Materials page for more information.
How can I tell if a source is scholarly? Visit our Source Types page for help.
"Farming for Development: Wheat Field in North Dakota" by United Nations Photo is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0
When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
Ethnic Diversity Source covers the culture, traditions, and lived experiences of different ethnic groups in America. It provides the full text of nearly 500 journals, including almost 400 peer reviewed journals. It also provides access to the Diversity and Ethnic Studies collection of more than 5,000 ebooks.
Contains citations to nearly 2 million records about geology and earth sciences. It is international in scope, and citations date from 1785 to the present.
GSW provides access to the full text of more than 50 journals and over 2,000 ebooks in the earth sciences. The default search includes both GSW journals and the GeoRef index. To limit your search to GSW full text journals only, select "All GSW journals" on the Quick Search or Advanced Search menu.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Below is a list of some of the key geography journals, and where they are indexed. Full text availability is listed in parentheses. If full text available is not listed, you can request articles from another library.
These key geography journals are indexed in Academic Search Premier (ASP):
These journals are indexed in the Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science):
The journal GeoJournal is available in full text via Springer
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
