LibGuides: NUR 202: Research and Ethics in the Health Sciences: Articles

Scholarly Articles in Nursing

This page points you to the major databases and journals for Nursing. You're going to want to focus your research time primarily on the resources on this page.

Articles are published in journals.

Journals are indexed in databases.

Databases: Most databases (such as CINAHL or PubMed) allow you to retrieve or request the full text of articles.

Research help: Contact Anna (ahulsebe@gustavus.edu) if you're having any difficulties with search terms or finding the full text of articles.

Databases for Research Nursing and Allied Fields

CINAHL Complete (Nursing) This link opens in a new window
Search CINAHL Complete for access to nursing & allied health journals, including full text for more than 1,300 journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Nursing and Allied Health Premium This link opens in a new window
This database provides resources for nursing and allied health research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. Includes training videos for nursing programs and cultural reports to support working with a diversity of patients. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
PubMed (citations from MEDLINE and other sources) This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 30 million citations and abstracts of biomedical literature. Click the "Find it at Gustavus" button to link to the full text or to make an interlibrary loan request. PubMed was developed and is maintained by the National Institutes of Health.

Additional Databases for Research in the Health Sciences

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
AltHealthWatch This link opens in a new window
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Biological Science This link opens in a new window
Covers research in all areas of biological science, including animal behavior, biomedicine, zoology, ecology, and others. Coverage is from 1982 to the present. Includes abstracts and citations, as well as access to thousands of full text titles.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based practice collection. Includes six databases that contain different types of independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, and a seventh database that provides information about groups in The Cochrane Collaboration: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database, and About the Cochrane Collaboration Database. Note: This subscription allows for one user at a time.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Health Source - Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. It also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's index to scholarly literature in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine and the health care system, from 1994-present. MEDLINE links to the ProQuest interface; this database can also be searched through the NLM's free PubMed web interface.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to articles from more than 1300 international journals in psychology and related fields, going back to 1840. Covers all areas of psychology, including experimental, developmental, communications, social processes and issues, personality, physical and psychological disorders, professional issues, applied psychology, educational psychology, and behavioral literature in such related fields as law, business and medicine. Also includes citations for books and chapters.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sport and fitness. Contains bibliographic references to international practical and research literature in sport, physical fitness, active living, and physical education. Contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. Provides full text for more than 440 journals. NOTE: Access is limited to four simultaneous users.

Ask Us!

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)

Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Search the Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?