LibGuides: FRE 367: North Africa: News

News Sources

Use these links to access news about North Africa. Note that some sources might have a paywall. Use the Tracking Down Materials tab (above) for more information on how to access articles through Interlibrary Loan. (Or just send Julie an email! Accessing materials behind a paywall can be tricky and I'm happy to help you.)

This is just a small selection of available news sources. You can also try a google search or use the Wikipedia links below each country to find additional news sources.

Regional News

Jeune Afrique - French-language, pan-African news source (use Google Translate to read in English)
North Africa Post
Middle East & North Africa headlines - from Reuters
North Africa Journal - weekly news source
Access WorldNews (link below) - this library database provides access to many international newspapers.
Proquest Newsstand (link below) - this library database provides access to hundreds of US papers; search to find news articles on your topic. Many major US papers will have some coverage of North Africa.

Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).

Tunisia

AllAfrica - Tunisia - aggregated news source about Tunisia
Agence Tunis Afrique Presse - English translation available
Here's the Wikipedia article listing Tunisian newspapers with links.

Algeria

Algerian Gazette
Algeria Press Services
AllAfrica - Algeria - aggregated news source about Algeria
The Wikipedia article on Algerian newspapers has additional links.

Morocco

AllAfrica - Morocco - aggregated news source about Morocco
Article19 - Moroccan and African news
MAP (Maghreb Arabe Presse) - state news agency; in French with English translation
Morocco World News
I also recommend the Wikipedia article on Moroccan newspapers, which provides links to a number of news sources and also a history of the press in Morocco

Television

If you're interested in television channels within the three countries, consult these lists: