This guide will support your research for your course, especially as you explore various topics. Think of it as a springboard; while the guide doesn't contain every single source available on French connections in the United States, it will give you a wide variety of topics to explore and inspire you to search further.
If you are new to the library or need a refresher, consult our Library FAQs and overview of the Library. We also have a guide on how to do research well - use it to brush up and expand your research skills! And since everyone can use a refresher on how to find books in the library, we have a guide for that, too.
These resources, which have a national or international focus, will be helpful:
Government bodies and other organizations:
Libraries and research centers - try search terms to locate information related to your inquiry
Magazines:
Lot of disciplines explore these topics through various lenses! In addition to the resources on this guide, browse some of the guides below - depending on your topic - to discover additional resources:
These library databases may contain information related to your topics. Be sure to read the database description to make sure you're searching in the right place. If you need help finding the hard copies of sources, consult the Tracking Down Materials tab on this guide. You can always contact your librarian directly with questions, too.
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes hundreds of full-text journals.
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
