Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Classical Composer Database
Offers basic biographical information about composers, both well-known and obscure, and links to information about them on the Web. Includes chronologies and a composer's calendar. Compiled by Jos Smeets.
Classical Music Navigator
Maintained by Charles H. Smith of Western Kentucky University, this site provides information on over 400 composers, with works listed by musical genre, a geographical roster, an index of forms and styles, and a glossary of musical terms.
Classical Scores Library I-IV
This collection includes major classical musical genres and time periods from the Middle Ages to the 21st century. Includes full, study, piano, and vocal scores.
American Musical Traditions
America Singing: Nineteenth Century Song Sheets
A collection of sheets of lyrics (not scores) of popular songs from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s. The majority of the song sheets were published from the 1850s to the 1870s, when song sheets were most popoular. This collection is "an early example of a mass medium and today they offer a unique perspective on the political, social, and economic life of the time, especially during the Civil War." From the Library of Congress's American Memory project.
Historic American Sheet Music, 1850-1920
Over 3,000 pieces of sheet music from Duke University's Special Collections. The cover illustrations alone provide insights into popular contemporary ideas on politics, patriotism, race, religion, love, and sentiment. From the Library of Congress's American Memory project.
The Linked Jazz Project focuses on digital archives of jazz history to expose relationships between musicians in the jazz community. You need to set up a free account to get started.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License