Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Musical Theatre: A Chronicle - Ref ML 1711 .B67 1992
Year-by-year coverage of what was on stage. The text puts productions in context and offers a historical view of the genre with a multitude of details about particular productions, people, and theatres. Includes indexes to shows and sources, songs, and people.
Chronology of American Musical Theater - Ref ML 1711.8 .N3 N67 2002 (3 vols)
By providing details of productions in chronological order, this set provides a comprehensive picture of this popular art form. Though it focuses on 1850 to 2002, selected significant productions from 1750 to 1850 are also included.
Experiencing Film Music: A Listener's Companion - Gen Collection ML 2075 .L32 2017
From the publisher: "A Listener's Companion opens the ears of film-goers to the nuance behind movie music, laying out in simple, non-technical language how composers and directors map what we hear to what we see--and, not uncommonly, back again."
Film and Television Music: A Guide to Books, Articles, and Composer Interviews - Ref ML128 .M7 S545 2011
This annotated guide includes sections on books, dissertations, composer and songwriter biographies, and film and music periodicals with film-music articles. In addition, dozens of small-press magazines and newsletters are indexed.
Historical Sets, Collected Editions and Monuments of Music: A Guide to Their Contents - Ref ML 113 .H52 1980
This standard bibliography of scores locates specific pieces of music in major published collections.
Library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts.
JVC Video Anthology of World Music - Audio Visual M 1627 .J32 1990
A collection of thirty videos, covering countries of the world and their music traditions. The videos present not only the sound of the music but the cultural context as well, and include many folk dances. There is a printed guide to the series, with brief information on each video.
New Oxford History of Music - Ref ML 160 .N44
An excellent chronological exploration of all aspects of music. Each volume covers a different musical period. Some have been published in newer editions. The final volume includes chronologies, bibliographies, and an index to the set.
Oxford History of Western Music - Ref ML 160 .T18 2005 (6 vols)
Attempts to cover not only the history of music as a survey of repertoires and changing tastes, but to explore "why and how things happened as they did." Volume 6 offers a chronology, a bibliography of books in English, and a list of musical examples cited in the set.
Reader's Guide to Music: History, Theory, Criticism - Ref ML 160 .R42 1999
A resource that provides overviews of important research on topics in western music (e.g. philosophy of music, patronage, ), musical types (chorale, jazz, ), countries and composers, with recommendations of what books are recommended for the curious reader.
Women and Music in America Since 1900 - Ref ML 82 .W625 2002
Covers women's contribution to music in the US with brief overview articles on topics such as music types (blues, classical, garage rock and heavy metal), issues (such as discrimination and feminist music criticism), and women musicians, both individuals and groups.
, Film and Media Studies
, Latin American, Latinx, and Caribbean Studies
, Sociology and Anthropology
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License