Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Adolescence in America: an Encyclopedia - Ref HQ796.A33244 2001
Provides articles on topics related to adolescence. Topics include academic achievement, depression, gender differences, juvenile crime, peer pressure, self-esteem and television.
Growing Up: A Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia - Ref HQ767.84 .B76 1995
Offers articles on a wide variety of topics relating to childhood, examining the different ways cultures raise children. Topics addressed include adoption, competition and cooperation, developmental stages, fatherhood, language acquisition, parenting styles, sex (gender) identity, and parents' preference for boy or girl children.
Encyclopedia of Aging - Ref HQ1061 .E53 2001
Covers topics related to aging in brief articles.
Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior - Ref HV 5804 .E53 2009
Includes articles on crime and alcohol, crime and drugs, legal aspects of drug abuse, specific drugs, physiological aspects of addiction, and more.
Encyclopedia of Family Life - Ref HQ534.E53 1999
Offers articles on various topics concerning family issues. Articles define terms, and cover historical trends and events, health, people, laws, organizations, etc.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture - Ref GT 2850 .E53 2003
A wide-ranging exploration of food and its cultural significance worldwide.
Encyclopedia of Homelessness - Ref HV 4493 .E53 2004
Presents articles that describe patterns of homelessness, historically and in the contemporary world, causes, legal issues, advocacy, legislation, issues facing the homeless, research, and the extent and nature of homelessness in cities and countries around the world. Includes a number of primary source documents.
Encyclopedia of Urban America: The Cities and the Suburbs - Ref HT123.E5 1998
Entries cover people, major cities and suburbs and topics and issues related to cities and suburbs. Entries include topics such as "apartment buildings", "hospitals" "public housing" and "white flight".
Gay Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia - Ref HQ75.13.G37 2000
Half of the encyclopedia contains biographies of prominent current and historical gay figures, but the work also contains articles related to culture, cultural identities, education, law, politics, psychology, sociology and theory.
Lesbian Histories and Cultures: An Encyclopedia - Ref HQ75.5.L4395 2000
Half of the encyclopedia contains biographies of prominent current and historical lesbian figures, the volume also contains articles related to culture, cultural identities, education, law, politics, psychology, sociology and theory.
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family - Ref HQ 9 .E52 2003
Surveys patterns in marriage and family life throughout the world, covering topics such as intimacy, intergenerational relations, family policy, gender, and sexuality, as well as coverage of family life in fifty countries.
Violence in America - Ref HN 90 .V5 V5474 1999
Explores the various facets of violence in nearly 600 articles on historical events, types of violence, research on violence, social issues, violence in the arts and popular culture, etc.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License