Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When you have an article with references, you can see if a particular reference is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.
Recommended Article Databases
A freely-accessible collection of papers in physics and other fields. The object of the archive is to diseminate research findings quickly, so articles are not always peer-reviewed (though some first posted in the archive are later formally reviewed and published). This was an early and important attempt to use the electronic environment for science research and is currently hosted at Cornell University.
Energy Citations Database
A service provided by the Department of Energy. Many of the cited texts are technical reports that may be difficult to obtain except for recent work which is often linked to full-text access; also includes citations and abstracts to articles publishished in journals.
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
Physical Review, published by the American Physical Society, is published in multiple sections. It's a major source for physics research. While the library does not subscribe to the content of current issues, this archive of articles provides full text from the 1800s to four years ago. Some more recent articles are also available in full text, and the full tables of contents for each section can be browsed.
This search engine points toward scholarly research rather than all Web-based sources. It is stronger in the sciences than in the humanities, with social sciences somewhere in between. One interesting feature of Google Scholar is that in includes a link to sources that cite a particular item. Not all of the articles in Google Scholar are free; the library can obtain many of them for you through Interlibrary loan.
Though this database is primarily for chemistry, it includes a lot of papers in related scientific fields such as materials science. To use it, you must create a username and password and click through a license agreement.
Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index of the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI). Besides indexing a wide range of journals in the sciences, social sciences, and history, this resource allows you to search for articles that cite a specific author or published work. Coverage from 1997 to the present. Click on the "Web of Science" tab to limit your search to one or more specific citation databases.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License