Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research in Physics
Richard Feynman once said doing physics was like watching a chess game without knowing how to play, trying to figure out the rules through observation. This guide to resources in physics tries to make the library a less mysterious place by describing places to find information quickly and ways to delve deeper into the literature of the field. Don't hesitate to ask a librarian for assistance if you aren't finding what you need.
Image courtesy of the Argonne National Laboratory
A freely-accessible collection of papers in physics and other fields. The object of the archive is to diseminate research findings quickly, so articles are not always peer-reviewed (though some first posted in the archive are later formally reviewed and published). This was an early and important attempt to use the electronic environment for science research and is currently hosted at Cornell University.
PROLA (Physical Review Online Archive)
Physical Review, a set of journals published by the American Physical Society, is published in multiple sections. It's a major source for physics research. While the library does not subscribe to the content of current issues, this archive of articles provides full text from the 1800s to four years ago. Some more recent articles are also available in full text, and the full tables of contents for each section can be browsed.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License