GEG 242: Research Methods in Geography: Geography Journals

What's the difference between articles, journals, and databases? Articles are published in journals. Journals are indexed in databases such as Academic Search Premier.

How can I find the full text of articles? Most databases include links for full text access. Visit our Tracking Down Materials page for more information.

How can I tell if a source is scholarly? Visit our Source Types page for help.

"Farming for Development: Wheat Field in North Dakota" by United Nations Photo is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Below is a list of some of the key geography journals, and where they are indexed. Full text availability is listed in parentheses. If full text available is not listed, you can request articles from another library.

These key geography journals are indexed in Academic Search Premier (ASP):

• Agriculture, Ecosystems, and Environment
• Annals of the American Association of Geographers (current issue available in print; full text in ASP with 18 month delay)
• Antipode (full text in ASP with 12 month delay)
• Area (full text in ASP with 12 month delay)
• Cultural Geographies (full text current in Sage Premier)
• Economic Geography (full text online)
• Environment and Planning A-D (full text current in Sage Premier)
• Geographical Analysis (full text in ASP with 12 month delay)
• Geographical Review (full text online)
• Geography Compass (indexed in ASP)
• Human Ecology (full text online)
• International Journal of Geographical Information Science (GIS) (full text in ASP with 15 month delay)
• Journal of Cultural Geography 
• Journal of the American Planning Association (JAPA) (full text online)
• Political Geography
• Progress in Human Geography (full text current in ASP)
• Progress in Physical Geography (full text current in Sage Premier)
• Remote Sensing of Environment
• Transactions of the Institute of British Geographers (full text in ASP with 12 month delay)
• Urban Affairs Review (full text current in Sage Premier)
• Urban Studies (Sage Publications) (full text current in Sage Premier)

These journals are indexed in the Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science):

• Energy Research & Social Science (full text on publisher site)
• GeoForum
• Global Environmental Change: Human and Policy Dimensions (available in print 1995-2016)
• Urban Geography

The journal GeoJournal is available in full text via Springer