Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ENG 226: Native American Literatures
Welcome to the library course page for ENG 226: Native American Literatures. The resources on this guide will help you delve into the research conversation surrounding your topic. Remember that you've also got access to people resources, too - librarians! Please send me an email with any questions or issues you've got about your research. You can also reach out if you want some advice about best ways to research your topic. My contact info is below my picture. Also, check out the Getting Started tutorial if you are new to college-level research.
Check out the other pages on this guide as well. You'll see detailed information on finding materials from other libraries in Tracking Down Materials. You'll also find search tips and an overview of conducting a bibliographic trace, which is an excellent way to do sophisticated, efficient research.
Recommended Article Databases
The major database for the study of literature is the MLA International Bibliography (linked below). Use it especially if you are approaching your topic from a literary criticism perspective. For other topics, you will want to consider a range of options. I've given you a number of other databases to consider - be sure to read the database description & keep in mind the types of sources you're looking for.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
America: History and Life
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
MLA International Bibliography
The major research resource for information on English literature, foreign languages and linguistics. Includes references to scholarly articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, and dissertations; coverage dates back to the 1920's.
ProQuest US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Native American Authors & Literatures
Here, you'll find a variety of sources related to your course. It's not a comprehensive list, but it should get you started. Use the reference books to gain a solid overview of possible topics. Be sure to look for other books & articles, too - those links are on the left-hand side. Books related to Native Americans are in the E50-E100 call number range & books on Native American Literature are in PS 153.I52, so browse those sections, too.
American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American, Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography - Ref PS 153 .M56 P43 1992
A useful guide to the literature, offering annotated leads to a wealth of information on writers and their works.
American Indians in Children's Literature
Established in 2006, American Indians in Children's Literature (AICL) provides critical perspectives and analysis of indigenous peoples in children's and young adult books, the school curriculum, popular culture, and society.
American Indian Youth Literature Award
Award-winning titles "present American Indians in the fullness of their humanity in the present and past contexts."
Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults: A Selected Listing of Books, 1980-1996 - Ref PN 1009 .A1 K78 1991
Offers citations to literature by and about African-Americans, American Indians, Asian-Americans, and Hispanic-Americans written for children.
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes - PS 153. 152 W47 1999
Provides entries on major authors, their works and characters.
General Native American Resources
American Indians at Risk - Ref E 98 .C87 A46 2014
This encyclopedia covers contemporary challenges in the lives of Native Americans (including social issues such as alcoholism, unemployment, and suicide).
Encyclopedia of American Indian Civil Rights - Ref KF8210.C5 E53 1997
More than 600 entries cover a variety of perspectives, issues, individuals, incidents, and court cases central to an understanding of the history of civil rights among American Indian peoples. The issue is a complicated one, expanding over a period of more than a century.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Issues Today - Ref E 76.2 .E527 2013
Subjects covered include: reservations, poverty, sovereignty, the problem of solid waste on reservations, and the lives of urban Indians, among other contemporary issues. Organized into ten sections, the book also provides helpful sidebars and informative essays to address topics on casinos and gaming, sexual identity, education, and poverty.
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes - Ref E77 .G15 1998
Offers surveys of tribes, including history, migration, subsistence, modern history, and current issues. Use the index to locate nations that may have more than one name in use (e.g. Anishinabe / Ojibwe / Chippewa).
Native American Encyclopedia: History, Culture, and Peoples - Ref E76.2 .P75 2000
Includes information about over 200 Native American groups in Canada and the U.S. Covers location, population, history, and culture.
Native Americans - Ref E93 .N32 2002
Provides essays related to the political and cultural issues surrounding Native Americans. Essays are supplemented by primary source documents.
General Literary Criticism
Contemporary Authors - Ref PN 771 .C632
This series gives biographical information, brief bibliographies of works by and about the author and sometimes further background information such as an interview. It is concerned solely with modern writers, and covers writers in fields outside of literature. Check the most recent cumulative index to locate biographies in any of the volumes and to locate biographies published in other Gale biographical series. Note: As of 2009, the library will no longer have an active subscription to Contemporary Authors, but the older editions will be kept in the Reference Collection.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism - Ref PN 81 .J554 2005
Excellent overview articles of theory, covering schools of thought such as feminist theory and reader-response, critical history by nationality, and theories developed by important individuals such as Bakhtin, Lacan, or Aristotle. Each essay is written by a specialist and helpful bibliographies are appended.
Dictionary of Literary Biography - Ref PS 221 .A5
This set provides lengthy articles of biographical information and some critical appraisal of literary works. The volumes are arranged thematically, with a cumulative index in the last volume. Though emphasis is on American and British literary authors, there is some coverage of journalists, historians, and critics, as well as writers from other countries.
January 2021 reference (research) help:
When you click on a database, you will be prompted to log in with your Gustavus username and password.
If it doesn't work, call the main desk (x7558) for help.
Searching for Websites
To look for reputable websites, be thinking about the groups and organizations that would be a) involved in the conversation you are researching and b) experts in the field. Are there nonprofit groups working on your topic? Have you looked at tribal government websites or other government agencies?
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License