Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Questions These Resources Address
What are the origins of global conflict, whether historical or contemporary, among nation-states or other actors? How have peace and justice movements evolved in response?
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
CIAO (International affairs) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text documents on international politics and related fields. Includes content from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals. Also includes country surveys with political data, economic data, and maps from The Economist Intelligence Unit.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Covers global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. Draws on scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and reference works.
In the Reference Collection - International Relations
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations by
Call Number: Reference JZ1160 .N65 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-30
Historical Dictionary of U. S. Diplomacy from the Civil War to World War I by
Call Number: Reference E661.7 .B55 2005
Publication Date: 2005-09-29
U. S. Diplomacy from World War I Through World War II by
Call Number: Reference E784 .F65 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
Historical Dictionary of U. S. Diplomacy since the Cold War by
Call Number: Reference E840 .L355 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-10
Sipri Yearbook: Armaments, Disarmament, and International Security
Call Number: Reference UA 10 .I55
Publication Date: 1972 - present (annual)
In the Reference Collection - War and Conflict
There are specialized encyclopedias in the reference section covering major world conflicts, including World War I and World War II as well as the Civil War, the Vietnam War, and the Korean War. These tend to emphasize military history but include some social history as well.
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts by
Call Number: Reference GN496 .E56 2015
Publication Date: 2015-12-07
The Encyclopedia of War by
Call Number: Reference U27 .E48 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-17
In the Reference Collection - Geographic Focus
You will find encyclopedias covering countries and regions of the world including Africa, the Middle East, and East Asia as well as this work covering issues and countries.
Encyclopedia of the Developing World by
Call Number: Reference HC59.7 .E52 2006
Publication Date: 2005-10-27
In the Reference Collection - United States
Violence in America
Call Number: Reference HN90.V5 V5474 1999
Publication Date: 1999-12-17
Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties by
Call Number: Reference KF4747.5 .E53 2006
Publication Date: 2006-10-10
Encyclopedia of the U. S. Government and the Environment by
Call Number: Reference GE180 .E53 2011
Publication Date: 2010-12-21
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License