Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Peace, Justice and Conflict Studies
Peace, Justice, and Conflict studies is an interdisciplinary field of study which addresses the problems of war, social oppression and violence, and the challenges of implementing nonviolent conflict resolution and social justice. This guide provides resources for researching topics in the various tracks that make up the Gustavus minor.
image courtesy of Mike Kline.
Academic Search Premier
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Public Affairs Index
Covers global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. Draws on scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and reference works.
Browsing for Books
Because it is an interdisciplinary topic, books that relate to peace, justice, and conflict studies are in multiple areas.
- BJ - Ethics
- BL-BX - Religion
- D - World History, Europe, Asia, Africa
- E - F American History
- H - Social Sciences (Economics, Sociology, Gender, Race)
- J - Political Science
- JC Political Theory
- JZ - International Relations
Some of the subject headings in the catalog that relate to peace are:
- War and Society
- Conflict (Psychology)
- Social Conflict
- Conflict Management (used for Conflict Resolution)
- Social Justice
- Security, International
In the Reference Collection
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by
Call Number: Reference JZ5533 .O95 2010
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology by
Call Number: Reference JZ5533 .E634 2012
Publication Date: 2011-12-12
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by
Call Number: Reference JC571 .E673 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
Call Number: Reference HV6322.7 .G446 2008
Publication Date: 2008-12-22
Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements by
Call Number: Reference HM881 .W553 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-25
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License