LibGuides: Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies: General Resources

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Covers global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. Draws on scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and reference works.

Because it is an interdisciplinary topic, books that relate to peace, justice, and conflict studies are in multiple areas.

Some of the subject headings in the catalog that relate to peace are:

The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Peace by Nigel Young (Editor)
Call Number: Reference JZ5533 .O95 2010
ISBN: 9780195334685
Publication Date: 2010-02-18
Encyclopedia of Peace Psychology by Daniel J. Christie (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Reference JZ5533 .E634 2012
ISBN: 9781405196444
Publication Date: 2011-12-12
Encyclopedia of Human Rights by David P. Forsythe
Call Number: Reference JC571 .E673 2009
ISBN: 9780195334029
Publication Date: 2009-08-11
Genocide by Adam Jones (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HV6322.7 .G446 2008
ISBN: 1847870228
Publication Date: 2008-12-22
Encyclopedia of Social and Political Movements by David A. Snow (Editor); Donatella Della Porta (Editor); Bert Klandermans (Editor); Doug McAdam (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HM881 .W553 2013
ISBN: 9781405197731
Publication Date: 2013-02-25

CSCA Center for Christian Inquiry. “Peace Education and the Church College,” 1974.
Peace Studies. Collection of the Peace Studies Program, 1970-Ongoing.
MAYDAY! Peace Conference. MAYDAY! Collection, 1981-Ongoing
The MAYDAY! Peace Conference collection consists of programs and planning materials along with audio and video recordings of presentations. Additional materials in the collection consist of papers and photographs documenting high school oratory contests held from 1986-1992. These were presented in conjunction with the larger conference. The conference is held on the campus of Gustavus Adolphus College in St. Peter, Minnesota during late April or early May on a yearly basis. Topics are “designed to educate the campus community and beyond about issues related to peace, human rights, and social justice.” The keynote speaker is often a person of renown. Generally, additional speakers discuss topics related to the general theme within various workshops. Materials are organized chronologically. The collection is ongoing.
more...less...
• Location: College and Lutheran Church Archives on the Library's 3rd floor.