Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Recommended Databases (Primary Sources)
Use these databases to find primary sources about women of historical interest.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
Primary source documents related to the history of women and social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000.
New York Times Historical
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
ProQuest US Newsstream
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents the work of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). They also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement. Covers 1955-1984.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, the San Francisco Human Rights Commission, and the National Organization for Women. Covers 1966-1984.
Discovering Women's History Online
This database, compiled at Middle State Tennessee University Library, offers well-organized access to digitized primary sources in U.S. women's history from prehistorical times to the late 20th century held in various libraries and museums.
The Lesbian Herstory Archives is dedicated to collecting and preserving history pertaining to the lesbian community. Located in Brooklyn, New York, the Lesbian Herstory Archives is not only one of the oldest archives dedicated to the history of lesbians but one of the largest, housing more than 10,000 volumes, 1,400 periodicals, 12,000 photographs, 500 pulp novels, and many collections of original manuscripts and personal archival material.
Finding Primary Sources
There are many different kinds of primary sources, anything from zines to diaries to newspaper articles to memoirs. The resources on this page are not comprehensive, so explore what's here, and if you can't find what you're looking for, or if you need more suggestions, please contact Jeff or another librarian (contact info found above).
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License