Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Russian and Eastern European Histories
Browsing for Reference Works
Books, including those in Reference, are shelved in general subject categories using the Library of Congress classification system. You may want to supplement your use of the catalog with browsing shelf areas for your topic. Below is a brief listing of some of the subject locations in the field of Russian and Eastern European Studies.
- DJK 1-77 History of Eastern Europe
- DK 1-949.5 History of Russia, Soviet Union, former Soviet republics
- PG 2001-3987 Russian, Belorussian, and Ukrainian language and literature
Recommended Reference Works
Use the drop down menu from the reference works tab above to find reference sources works related to Russian and Eastern European language, culture, and literature. The guide is not comprehensive, so stop by the reference desk to chat with a librarian about finding additional information.
History and Culture
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union - Ref DK 14 .C35 1994
Arranged according to topic, this encyclopedia provides information on the geography, people. religion, history, art and architecture, language and literature, cultural life, sciences, politics, economy, society, military and international relations of Russia. Although somewhat dated, most of the information is still relevant.
Central and South-Eastern Europe - Ref HC 244 .A1 C46 2009
Each country entry contains geographical information, a historical chronology, essays on politics and the economy, a statistical survey and a directory containing names and addresses of organizations and people associated with a variety of areas from government to education. Countries covered include Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovnia, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia and Yugoslavia.
Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia 2002 - Ref HC244.A1 E29 2002
Each country entry contains geographical information, a historical chronology, essays on politics and the economy, a statistical survey and a directory containing names and addresses of organizations and people associated with a variety of areas from government to education. Countries covered are Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russian Federation, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and the Ukraine.
Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe from the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism - Ref DJK 6 .E53 2000
Offers long essays on the countries and regions of Eastern Europe as well as shorter entries on history, geography, culture, concepts, and prominent figures.
Encyclopedia of Russian History - Ref DK 14 .E53 2004 (4 vols.)
Offers succinct but scholarly articles on events, cultural developments, ethnic groups, economic issues, organizations, prominent historical figures, and issues in Russian history.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License