A Guide to Russian and Eastern European Studies: Russian and Eastern European Literature(s)

"This guide provides informative essays and selective bibliographies on the main writers of Russian for students and general readers. Covering all of Russian literature, this handbook emphasizes 19th- and 20th-century authors. The guide uses the Western alphabet, so anonymous works appear under their English title and are interfiled in alphabetical order with author entries. Entries for writers include a brief biography, a list of the writer's primary works in chronological order, a selected list of bibliographies, and critical studies. The guide begins with 13 detailed essays that cover most periods, topics, and genres of Russian literature. This reference source belongs in all libraries with large literature collections." - from the publisher

"This first encyclopedia of its kind in English covers ten centuries of Russian literature and includes nearly 1,000 entries by leading scholars. It will be an indispensable guide for students or the general reader." - from the publisher

"The first reference work in any language devoted to Russian women writers, this dictionary systematically covers, in detail, the lives of 448 women who wrote from the period of Catherine the Great to the present. Despite their significant achievements, women writers are generally missing from the canons of Russian literature. The present editorial team individually began the process of uncovering this lost literary heritage over ten years ago. More recently, they joined forces with and enlisted contributions from scholars in North America, Europe, and Russia. Each entry comprises a bio-critical sketch followed by lists of important writings in the original and in translation, archival sources, and major secondary references. Data has been researched worldwide, with biographical information culled from diaries, memoirs, and other primary sources as well as literary histories and reference works. A general bibliography supplements the secondary sources provided with each entry." - from the publisher

Librarian's note: Look for the very large set of blue Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes. This book is #150.

Librarian's note: Look for the very large set of blue Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes. This book is #150.

Contributing scholars record and analyze the works of European writers from the late nineteenth century to the present.

Librarian's Note: Articles for many Eastern European countries give brief overviews of their literary histories.

"Provides almost 2700 articles on twentieth-century authors from all over the world who wrote in English or whose works are available in English translation." - from the publisher

Librarian's note: A biographical dictionary, covering European authors from 1000 to 1900. For subsequent decades see other authors in the World Authors series edited by Stanley Kunitz, Vineta Colby, and Clifford Thompson. For the 19th century, see European authors, 1000-1900 edited by Stanley Kunitz.