Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ART/GWS 250: Gender and Art: Start

Welcome!

This guide contains resources to help you find sources for your project. You'll want to search both books and articles, as scholarly materials in GWS and Art (as well as history) tend to appear in both journals and books. Use the boxes below to explore various subject-appropriate places to search.

Don't hesitate to ask if you've got questions! Send me an email - I enjoy helping you solve any research problems you have. You can also email me if you want to brainstorm about your projects. We can work via email or set up a virtual or in person time to chat. You can also find library and research help at the library's Information Desk or Reference Desk. 

If you need a refresher on using the library, consult our Library FAQs and an overview of the Library

Finding Articles

Try these article databases for your topic - different ones will work better for some topics than others, so be sure to read the database description. Use the Tracking Down Materials tab above for help finding full text. Email me if you have any issues or want to talk about your research approach. NOTE: You can find some articles by searching the library's catalog (main box on the library's homepage) BUT you'll also want to search in databases so you don't miss any important scholarship. (In other words, not everything is in the library catalog.)

Finding Books

To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via  the search box on the library's homepage. 

When you find books that look useful, write down the Collection & the Call Number. Note that many art books are shelved in the Oversize collection, due to their size. 

General Collection, call numbers A - PQ  are on the Third Floor 

General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side

Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side

Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance

Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First Floor 

AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First Floor

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. Don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library) if you can't find your book.

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.

You can check books out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc.  And this page gives even more detail about finding books in our library.

Finding More Books

You can (and should) also search for books in other libraries. To do this, use the advanced search in the library catalog. Scroll down to select "Libraries WorldWide." 

  • Once you find a book that you want to order, click the title. On the next screen, click "Request from Another Library" under the Access Options box.
  • Follow the prompts to log in with your Gustavus user name and password.
  • You will get an email once the book arrives; pick it up at the Information Desk of the library.
  • This process is free to you and is a great way to expand your resources.
  • The Tracking Down Materials tab at the top of this guide has more information on requesting materials from other libraries.

Reference Books

Depending on your topic, these reference books might provide you with overviews and insights into social and historical contexts. This is a great way to learn a lot about a particular topic in a short amount of time. Reference books (like encyclopedias) are shelved on the main floor of the library, Beck Hall side. They can't be check out but you can scan or take a picture of the information you need.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Julie Gilbert
Contact:
Hello! I look forward to working with you. If you have any questions about research, an assignment, or the library in general, please contact me. You can also reach any of the reference librarians at folke@gustavus.edu or via the Ask Us! button on the library's homepage.
Website

Evaluating Sources

You're being asked to evaluate your sources by investigating format, publication source, and the authority of the writers. This concept of authority, in particular, is a key information literacy concept. When we engage in ideas, especially if we are new(er) to the field, we want to be sure that we're listening to the people who are knowledgable - and who are recognized by other knowledgable people as knowledgable. This sense of authority looks different in various contexts, but in academic contexts, it is primary through scholars who have reached the highest level of study in their field. Here are a few other external sources that will help you think through questions of evaluation and authority: 

Class Slides

If you want a refresher, here are the slides from our library session.

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License