NDL 147: Academic Success for Multilingual Learners: Overview

We've got a one-stop guide for doing citations in some of the major styles. You can always ask a librarian if you've got a tricky citation and aren't sure what to do. We also encourage you to visit the Writing Center for writing and citation help.

The library catalog and many databases will even cite books and articles for you! When you're looking at a record for a specific book or article, check to see if there's a "Cite" button. From there, you can usually select a specific citation style and the database will give you the correct citation, which you can copy and paste into a works cited page. Even databases make mistakes, so be sure to double check the citations!

Research can be both exciting and frustrating. Fortunately, there are lots of people on campus who can help.

• Check with your professor if you aren't sure how to approach your assignment or want a second opinion on sources and strategies.
• Stop by the Writing Center at any point during the process for expert advice from your talented peers.
• The Academic Support Center can help with issues such as time management and organization.
• Connect with librarians for any and all research questions. There are many ways to get in touch with us. 

You can always email Julie with any questions or to schedule a meeting. I'm happy to help with any and all of your research questions. Or if you just want to chat about your topic & create a strategy for searching, we can do that, too. 

The Gustavus Library is committed to fostering an inclusive and welcoming environment for all our patrons. We acknowledge that harmful and outdated language or terminology exists in catalog records for our materials, though, and we would welcome your help in identifying such instances.

If you encounter any language that you consider to be harmful or offensive to yourself or others, please use this form to report it and suggest alternative language. We will contact the Library of Congress to request that changes be made whenever we come across items under their purview and will supplement our own descriptions with more respectful terms as necessary. We also direct you to our entire Harmful Language Statement for more information. 

To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage. And consult our guide for locating books on the shelf for more help.

When you find books that look useful, write down the Location & the Call Number. 

General Collection, call numbers A - PQ  are on the Third (Top) Floor 

General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side

Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side

Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance

Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First (Bottom) Floor 

AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First (Bottom) Floor

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. The system is a little tricky to figure out at first, so don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library).

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.

You can check books out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc.  

To find articles, try these databases, which will connect you with all kinds of sources. You will probably find a lot of information (but sometimes you find no information!). Be persistent, try various search terms, and above all, ask for help if you're stuck. 

These are just some of the databases available through the library. You should also consult the Research Guides and browse the specific guides for your area of study. For example, if you're doing a research project about politics, browse the Political Science research guide, paying special attention to the recommended article databases. 

Once you've found some articles, you'll probably want to narrow down your results. You can always add additional terms to your search to narrow the focus. Use the Search Tips tab at the top of this guide for tips.

• Newspapers are good for very specific news items or recent events.
• Magazine articles reflect a popular approach to issues and are often short and simple in style.
• Articles in academic journals report on research and are sometimes quite long and complex. Concentrate on the abstract (a one-paragraph summary that sometimes is at the beginning of the article), the introduction, and the last paragraphs. 

When articles are not available as PDF or HTML files, there's a yellow "find it!" button that will search for the article in other databases or offer you a chance to get a copy from another library, a process that usually takes a day or two and is FREE for you. Consult the Tracking Down Materials tab for more information. 

The easiest way to access news articles is through these databases. This will get you around any paywalls you might encounter if you were just searching Google for newspaper articles. 

You can (and should) also search for books in other libraries. To do this, use the advanced search in the library catalog. Scroll down to select "Libraries WorldWide." 

• Once you find a book that you want to order, click the title. On the next screen, click "Request from Another Library" under the Access Options box.
• Follow the prompts to log in with your Gustavus user name and password.
• You will get an email once the book arrives; pick it up at the Information Desk of the library.
• This process is free to you and is a great way to expand your resources.
• The Tracking Down Materials tab at the top of this guide has more information on requesting materials from other libraries.

If you want a refresher from our library session, the slides from class are posted here.

If you'd like to read more about Carol Kulthau's research process, here are some recommended links: