LibGuides: S/A 244: Cities, Citizenship, and Social Justice: Start

Finding Articles

Here are some recommended databases for your topics. You'll need to be persistent and try various search terms. The Search Terms and the Tracking Down Information tabs above have more suggestions for searching & locating hard copies of sources. Email me with any questions or issues.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Access World News (Newsbank) This link opens in a new window
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Indexing and selected full text access to over 350 newspapers from around the world. Archival coverage begins in 1985 for some titles. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
CIAO (International affairs) This link opens in a new window
Contains full text documents on international politics and related fields. Includes content from government research organizations, independent think tanks, university analysis centers, and scholarly journals. Also includes country surveys with political data, economic data, and maps from The Economist Intelligence Unit.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The American Economic Association's electronic database, contains more than 1.1 million records from 1886-present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports.
Project Muse Basic College Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.
Public Affairs Index This link opens in a new window
Covers global contemporary public policy issues, ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international conflict and natural disasters. Draws on scholarly publications, conference papers, government documents and reference works.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.

Finding Books

The library has a number of books on cities; many of them can be found on the third floor by browsing the call numbers from HT101-HT395, where books on cities and urban planning are shelved. To find books in our library, search the Library Catalog - you can also search directly via the search box on the library's homepage.

When you find books that look useful, write down the Location & the Call Number.

General Collection, call numbers A - PQ are on the Third Floor

General Collection, call numbers PR - Z are on the Second (Main) Floor

Oversize are on the Third Floor, Beck Hall side

Reference are on the Second (Main) Floor, Beck Hall side

Browsing are on the Second (Main) Floor near the entrance

Young Adult & Children's Books are on the First Floor

AV materials (DVDs, etc) are on the First Floor

Once you are in the right area, signs on the sides of the shelves will direct you further. Don't hesitate to ask for directions at the Information Desk (main floor of the library) if you can't find your book.

Browse the shelves when you find a useful book. Books are shelved according to topic, so chances are you'll find other relevant books nearby.

You can check books out at the Information Desk. This page has information about loan periods, renewals, etc. And this page gives even more detail about finding books in our library.

Finding More Books

You can (and should) also search for books in other libraries. To do this, use the advanced search in the library catalog. Scroll down to select "Libraries WorldWide."

Once you find a book that you want to order, click the title. On the next screen, click "Request from Another Library" under the Access Options box.
Follow the prompts to log in with your Gustavus user name and password.
You will get an email once the book arrives; pick it up at the Information Desk of the library.
This process is free to you and is a great way to expand your resources.
The Tracking Down Materials tab at the top of this guide has more information on requesting materials from other libraries.

City Statistics

Depending on your topic, you might need or want to look up statistics on your city. Here are some ideas and resources to consult.

World Development Indicators This link opens in a new window
WDI is a database of global information and statistics compiled yearly.

Regional Surveys of the World
This multi-volume set provides excellent and informative information on countries of the world, including geographical, historical, political, economic, and statistical information. Each entry also contains a directory of governmental and non-governmental organizations. Older volumes are shelved in the General and/or Oversize collection; recent volumes are shelved in Reference:
Africa South of the Sahara Ref DT 351 .A37
Central and South-Eastern Europe Ref HC 244 .A1 C46
Eastern Europe, Russia, and Central Asia Ref HC 244 .A1 E29
The Far East and Australasia Ref DS1 .F3
The Middle East and North Africa DS 49 .M62
South America, Central American, and the Caribbean F 1401 .S28
Western Europe HC 240 .A1 W47
Statistical Abstract of the United States - Ready Reference HA 202 .P76
This is perhaps the single most useful small package of statistical information available. It includes hundreds of tables of figures on population, economics, social factors, etc., with references to the original sources. The most recent can be found in print at the set of shelves next to the Reference Desk.
United Nations: UN Data
World Bank: Data
Global development data. Browse by country or indicator.
World Factbook (CIA)
Provides country profiles.

Librarian

Julie Gilbert

Email Me

Contact:

If you have any questions about research, an assignment, or the library in general, please contact me. I look forward to working with you!

Subjects: African/African Diaspora Studies, Communication Studies, Physics, Political Science, Scandinavian Studies

City Government Pages

Here are links to some of the main pages for each of your cities. They will be excellent sites for gathering data and exploring some of the issues impacting your city.

Hong Kong
Lagos
(Note that this is a link to the Lagos State government)
Los Angeles
Shanghai
Singapore
Tokyo

Additional Resources

Here are some other recommended research guides to consult.

Class Slides

Here are the slides we used during our library session in case you'd like a refresher on what we discussed.

Class Slides

S/A 244: Cities, Citizenship, and Social Justice: Start

Welcome!